News:

Forum changes: Editing of posts has been turned off until further notice.

Main Menu

Minmi World - Into Dreams!

Started by Ninetongues, January 31, 2007, 01:29:36 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Ninetongues

Yesterday, when I was reading my way through Your ideas here on the Forge I came up with some funny idea for a game.

Im a writer, and I have some very short novels written. There is one very weird, called 'Minmi World'. It's about a shop selling dreams in boxes, like games, to other people. Funny thing is, that every dream is recenzed, and You actually know what You are going to dream of, but still it's quite thrilling - imagine that You could sell Your dreams like that, or buy someone's elses.
So This guy buys a bestseller, called Minmi World. It's just some crazy, 8minute long oniric vision of a goth girl called Minmi. In short, it's something like that:

[The guy is Minmi in that dream]

You run inside and lock the door. Now run to the steel fence in the middle of the room. Watch for the mud, it's slippery... Yeah, now nice slide, and here You are, by the Chicken House. You get the egg, and crack the shell, ready to drink it all up...
But suddenly You hear Him. The Grandpa is coming... So You run to the old roadster standing just there, and roll over the hood... Too far! Crash, Your'e outside again. Seeing street 2km down below..

And so on.

There was another bit of inspiration sleeping in me, for I love 'Vurt' novel by Jeff Noon, and Vurt is nothing else, then dream liquified, and applied on feathers, that You suck, and that kicks You into dream.

So... Imagine RPG where players would choose their own adventure from some 'bestsellers'; players knowing, what exactly is going to happen on the session, players having their favourite 'dreams' they already had, and always wanting some more.

I see it like that: