News:

Forum changes: Editing of posts has been turned off until further notice.

Main Menu

Out of the Gray (early concept)

Started by OKeefe, February 14, 2007, 06:31:50 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

OKeefe

Hi I'm new.  I hope this is the right kind of post in the right kind of area.

I have a few ideas for a game that I think will work, but I'm new at this and am running into a major problem...

Out of the Gray is the working title for the game.  A lot of the theme is based on the color spectrum and light. 

"Powers" exist and each one has a physical and mental key word.  For instance Red is the power of Anger and Pain.  Each power also has two aspects.  White is the external use and Black is the internal use.

Each PC starts with one color and can use either aspect of it.  Right now I'm using a D6 mechanic with 4+ being a success.  You would start with one D6.  Each time you use a power in the same aspect it gets stronger and you add a die.  If you are using a different aspect than the last time you used the power, you lose a die.  At a certain point when you succeed with a power (right now I'm thinking around 5 or 6 dice in the roll) it locks into that aspect and lets you choose a new power above or below it on the spectrum.  In the future any time you use a power in the same aspect as a locked power and can justify their combination, you can add in the dice from the locked power.

You may already see what my problem is.  This lets the PCs power up very quickly.

The setting gives me a natural system for slowing advancement, but I can't come up with a mechanic.  I'll have to explain a little bit more...

The setting (in general)