News:

Forum changes: Editing of posts has been turned off until further notice.

Main Menu

Matrix Game Decision Making Process

Started by MatrixGamer, February 14, 2007, 12:26:41 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

komradebob

Chris:
You've got a bunch of stuff spinning around in this thread. Do you want to split off a topic over in publishing brainstorming how to promote?

You've also started talking about several variations on the core MG mechanic- Do you want to discuss that part, perhaps over in First Thoughts or Endeavor forums?

Also: The Tea and Hummus comment made me deeply home-sick for a little mom'n'pop joint back in the Crescent City. For all the good food out here in SF,CA, I still can't track down good Lebanese/Palestinian stuff.
Robert Earley-Clark

currently developing:The Village Game:Family storytelling with toys

Aaron Blain

Yes, more questions about the core mechanic if you don't mind.

I've been gaming for about seven years, and from reading your site it seems my interests and attitudes are quite similar to yours. Having recently discovered EMG, I am very excited to introduce my local college gaming guild, most of which is hopelessly mired in dysfunctional DnD. I have a few questions and concerns.

Regarding the whimsicality of the strength-rating system, I already have faith that the social dynamic will take care of things, especially in a roving-referee game. My current understanding, although I haven't seen you phrase it such, is that the goal in designing the argument is to CONVINCE the referee, which covers the whole universe of variables (coolness, whim, precedent, bias). I understand and agree with your decision to avoid a formalised strength rubric. What I am curious about is the degree of dialogue you suggest between the arguing player and the referee. That is, instead of dissecting the argument into a string of micro-rolls, might the referee simply interrogate the arguing player?