News:

Forum changes: Editing of posts has been turned off until further notice.

Main Menu

Seeking someone good with d20 rules, stats, and skill making.

Started by USRPG, February 28, 2007, 08:57:31 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

USRPG

To keep this post rather interesting, I will forgo a lengthy "historic introduction" of who I am and just skip straight to the meat and potatoes.

I am a creative writer. I enjoy – and pardon me for tooting my own horn – seem especially gifted in creating fictional worlds in great detail. Thus it was not difficult for me to venture into the role playing niche and begin producing material aimed towards it. However, while I have experience in playing RPG's, I am a terrible framer of rules. As a "scenario writer" I am only limited by my imagination and desire to avoid the cliché. As a "ruleset writer" I must abide by a moderated standard to make everything enjoyable and fair when playing. This is where I fail.

I'm hoping to contact an individual who thinks of themselves as a "great" rule setter – especially of the d20 system in general (be it Modern or D&D). Someone who can take a concept – be it a character class, technological (or magical) device, or deadly encounter creature - and apply how the d20 system would stat such a thing. Naturally, I understand how time consuming and intellectually challenging such a thing can be, and monetary compensation for the work shall be provided... although I must admit out front that I am only an individual, not a company, so the payout would not be incredibly great.

More or less, I am seeking a "partner" who has a strong desire to aid in what I believe is an incredible fictional world, into the production of an actual d20 game worthy of commercial status. If fame and money come from the endeavor, great – but the real goal is simply to see the work finished.

As for the work in question, here is short introductive premise: