News:

Forum changes: Editing of posts has been turned off until further notice.

Main Menu

Angels in the Vineyard? (setting request)

Started by cglasgow, April 02, 2007, 03:41:47 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

cglasgow

Hi, I'm Chuck, and I'm a newbie.   (To this forum, and to DitV, if not to RPGs in general.)  *g*

I've seen the Dogs as Angels thread in search, but what I was wondering is, has anyone ever actually done conversion notes for using the DitV mechanics to run the In Nomine setting?

cglasgow

I did have one setting conversion thought of my own -- how to handle Superior Invocations.

Either change the areas of conflict, or add a new one.   So, forex, you'd have Verbal - Physical - Combat - Invoking Your Superior.   Popping the last would allow you to Escalate using whatever dice you had left re: Relationship with your Archangel or Demon Prince... as well as escalate the Fallout into d12 or higher.(*)  Thus guaranteeing that whatever consequences there are, they'll be *significant*.

Of course, if you try to invoke your superior and lose, a prime place to put Fallout is 'My relationship with my Superior is now worse'.   Thus reducing the usefulness of future attempted Invocations until you get back in good graces with your boss.

There'd also be a rule on how often you could attempt something like this.   Once per session, or per adventure, would be about right.   

Of course, if the opposition escalates to Superior Invocation, your own dice relevant in that field just went on the table too... even if the mechanical effect totally doesn't involve your Archangel actually appearing.   Such as 'Prince Asmodeus, knowing that showing up to smite a highly favored servitor of Michael, Archangel of War (read: you had a lot of relationship dice w/ Michael, or rolled really well) decided to spare himself the painful experience and simply told his harried Servitor "You're on your own."