News:

Forum changes: Editing of posts has been turned off until further notice.

Main Menu

Fiddling with Negotiation/Conflict Resolution Simulations

Started by dikaiosunh (Daniel), May 02, 2007, 08:58:15 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

dikaiosunh (Daniel)

This represents my first shot at thinking about design, so I hope this is specific enough for feedback... I apologize if some of it is long-winded, but I want to make sure there's enough meat to give folks a good idea of what I'm interested in doing.

I'm a long time gamer, but the line of thought I'd like some help with actually comes out of a job situation:  a significant portion of a job I've just started involves teaching students about negotiation and conflict resolution (and also teaching other teachers about how to teach it...) (besides being a gamer, I'm also a newly-minted professor, but this comes out of some work I'm doing for an NGO... I don't mean to sound mysterious, the other specifics just aren't really that relevant).  And, a significant portion of how CR is generally taught is through simulations.  Having helped facilitate a number of them, and having read through a bunch of the theory here on the Forge, I've started trying to think about them as "actual play" instances - and how they might be tweaked.