News:

Forum changes: Editing of posts has been turned off until further notice.

Main Menu

[The Emperor's Heart] The Library

Started by Chris_Chinn, July 26, 2007, 07:45:12 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Chris_Chinn

The Emperor's Heart is the laser-sharked space-wuxia game I've been working on for a few months now.  Take the classic "Outlaws fighting against corrupt eunuch-run Imperial government" add spaceships, robot armies and make the eunuchs immortal cyborgs and you get the idea.

I was playtesting this with my friend N, who has never roleplayed before.  He read a few White Wolf books, but never actually played an rpg and his closest relevant experience is as a creative writing major at school.  (I also intend to get a few of my friends who have never roleplayed before together, and also try playtesting with them, just to compare and contrast to experienced roleplayers). 

The Library

Setup for play involves choosing from sets of cards- a group of outlaws, a scenario, a resource, archetypes to build heroes, drama cards to build personal situations and backstory, and villains.   Basically, the entire setup is built on "Menu A, Menu B" logic, and the cards are designed so that people who might not be familiar with the setting really can easily grasp it and get into play quickly.

In both regards, this worked really well.  We chose the Phoenix Swordsmen as the outlaw faction- the archetypical philsopher warriors on the run.  For the scenario, N. was intrigued by the Library, and it made sense to choose The Lost Books of the Phoenix School as the resource the heroes were there to acquire.

Heroes, Villains