Forum changes: Editing of posts has been turned off until further notice.
Started by dikaiosunh (Daniel), July 30, 2007, 09:34:32 PM
Quote1. After a fight, characters recover half of their lasting penalties. Does this apply to penalties only from that fight, or to all lasting penalties the character is carrying?
Quote2. Can characters elect to hold their actions in a conflict until another event "goes off?" E.g., if someone is going to tackle the evil sorcerer so I can get a good kick in, but I roll higher than the tackler, can I say, "I wait until he's tackled" to get the bonus (thereby opening myself up to not being able to defend with full dice, etc.), or must I either go ahead with my kick without the bonus from the tackle or abort my action until next turn?
Quote3. I just really don't understand Shapeshift ...
Quote from: Ron Edwards on July 30, 2007, 11:13:31 PMSo it's not a "power" in a stackable, additive way, but neither is it merely color. The character does change into a wolf, and as far as the Shared Imagined Space is concerned, that beats the shit out of not changing into a wolf.
QuoteI guess I'm in the grip of the intuition that if a "power" has no mechanical effect (i.e., carries with it no greater power to influence the story when push comes to shove) then it's in the realm of things that should be fine to do without powers (or as SIS explanations of other powers - you have Special Damage b/c you can turn into a wolf, e.g.). And, the corollary: since Sorcerer is so heavily designed to get away from the kind of role-playing where we just talk about what our characters do without the rules, that it's odd to have something as seemingly-substantial as changing form carry no mechanical effect.
QuoteIn any event, I think I'm closer to understanding at least where *you* draw the line - an ability that mostly has narrative effects that change the parameters of what the character can do, but don't necessarily amplify something for which Power is appropriate is OK as its own power. Is that gloss in the right ballpark?