News:

Forum changes: Editing of posts has been turned off until further notice.

Main Menu

I'm stuck before I can begin

Started by clockworkjoe, January 21, 2008, 09:45:46 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

clockworkjoe

I have an idea for a modern horror rpg. The setting, characters and so forth are easy for me to write. I even have ideas on the rules. However, I have no background in math, game theory, or statistics and I am hopelessly lost when it comes to creating new game mechanics. I don't want to use an existing system.

How do you go about designing new mechanics like conflict resolution? Where do you get the number of dice to roll, what target numbers you want to reach and so forth?I want something fairly simple but not something as easy as Risus.

For example, I want skills to reflect what a person actually learns from education, on the job training and experience. Instead of giving an ex-cop some firearms, driving, investigation and some police contacts and social skills, the character has Law Enforcement Training 3 and the character can roll on any task listed under Law Enforcement 3.However, unlike the standard 'name your power' systems, I want there to be a specific list of skills, each with a list of tasks underneath it.  Skills would go from 1-10 and the numbers would correspond with the amount of experience the characters has with it. A 1 in a skill is a hobby with minimal time spent on it, a 3 is a newly trained professional (rookie), and a 10 is a world class master who has sacrificed many things to achieve that level of skill.

chronoplasm