News:

Forum changes: Editing of posts has been turned off until further notice.

Main Menu

Hello, New to this forum. Question about game play statistics

Started by DannyM, August 13, 2007, 06:56:38 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

DannyM

Hello There,
    I stumbled across your site recently and had a few questions about RPG gaming mechanics.

I used to play D&D years ago and recently I started getting back into it ( I picked up the book "D&D for Dummies" recently).

I noticed that they had changed the rules since I had last played ( I dont remeber a battle grid back in the day I think we used to play with just the map).

Anyways, I am very intrigued with gaming and want to try my first hand at making jmy own system. The idea is that I have a battle game idea that is like a very paired down D&D battle grid.

Basically ( I'm keeping my first game simple because I am still learning this stuff all over again) I want to make battle game with prdefined characters that have specific feats already generated for them.

Basically you roll the dice to see if you can achieve ( I think this is called a skill check?) the task at hand. If you roll the number ( I am thinking a standard d20) then you can roll a 6 sided dice to determine damage against your opponent.

The idea is that I want each character to have a sort of rock paper scissors aspect to their feats so that each template character will have the same amount of chances per turn.

Say you have 4 moves per character. you choose your hardest feat and it has a dificulty of 15 ( I am still not sure if i am going to include modifiers or not I want to keep things simple as possible now). You roll a 15, but because the 15 is a moderately hard to hard move to pull off I want the pay off to be higher. So if you roll a fifteen then you get to roll the 6 sided dice maybe 3 times.