News:

Forum changes: Editing of posts has been turned off until further notice.

Main Menu

Hi! I am an editor looking for freelance work

Started by Anubisgrrl, August 23, 2007, 02:48:47 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Anubisgrrl

Hello,

I am posting as a result of several conversations at GenCon Indy. A number of people said that they were looking for a good content editor and other editorial support. So, I am here to offer my services as a professional editor.

I have worked both inside and outside the gaming industry. I was production editor for Hogshead Publishing for several years, producing many Warhammer Fantasy Roleplay, SLA Industries, and New Style products. I was also part of the three-person design team that produced Nobilis, 2nd Edition, which received an Origins award for design in 2002. Prior to that, I edited and produced Games Games Games magazine in Britain.

I am currently working as a professional technical editor in New Mexico. While I appreciate the steady income, I miss being involved in the games industry and producing books. Thus, I am seeking additional freelance editing work.

My rates are competitive and negotiable based on the scope of the work. I understand the challenges that independent publishers and individual designers face, and I try to offer services that will fit into any budget. Generally, my hourly rate for proofreading, light copy editing, and basic indexing of a draft—a process that every game deserves—starts at $15. I tend to charge more for substantial or developmental editing, research, and rush jobs. I am happy to negotiate a flat fee if that is preferable.