News:

Forum changes: Editing of posts has been turned off until further notice.

Main Menu

Reincarnation based game with plenty of downtime (1st post)

Started by Burrito, August 30, 2007, 01:42:45 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Burrito

Hallo

(This is my first time posting - please be gentle)

I've been toying with an idea for some time about a series of one-shot scenarios roughly connected on the premis of reincarnation.  Since I joined the military and left my old gaming group behind I'd like some kind of meta-campaign that could be played once, twice a year over the course of a few years to reach it's conclusion - something my vacation schedual would allow. 

Seeking this, I was thinking about something along the line of prefabricated characters, thrown together by pre-planned endevor or fate, assumed by the players.  Each character's "Soul", that part of him defined in style by the player and in mechanics by "Soul Points", influences the body it is in.  "SP" could be spent to gain additional skills or grant a guaranteed success during gameplay.  Every character would have a series of objectives, "major" and "ideal", which if brought to fruition through the arch of the story would grant permenant "SP". (One point for major success, two points for ideal success.) While Soul Points are "spent" at character creation (and possibly untapped "SP"'s spent throughout the story on successes) they never go away- next session the new lives of the Souls manifest their aquired motivations in new ways, spending the mass sum of all the "SP"s thus far gained anew.