News:

Forum changes: Editing of posts has been turned off until further notice.

Main Menu

Basic rules as multiple book sets

Started by Ken, October 30, 2007, 05:01:34 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Ken

Hi-

I've been play-testing TEN CENT HEROES now for a few months and have been giving thought to the layout of the game. The game will weigh in at about 100 pages, and I've been giving thought to actually splitting the rules into three books; character generation, powers, and system & setting. This is a lot like the DC HEROES game boxed set by Mayfair in the 80s, but it made some sense to me for a few reasons:

a) Three smaller books would allow for thin stapled spine books, like comics (which is genre of the game).
b) Easier reference between some aspects of the game, instead of page-flipping.
c) Group dynamic; someone could be checking out one part of the game, while someone else is using another book.

I wasn't thinking of putting this in a box, though the books would be bundled under one price. Is the cost of three covers per game too prohibitive vs. the little bit of aesthetic value I may get from the bundle? Is three books too clumsy?

Has anyone else wrestled with this, or actually gone this route. Any thoughts, feedback, or experiences would be appreciated.

Thanks,

Ken
Ken

10-Cent Heroes; check out my blog:
http://ten-centheroes.blogspot.com

Sync; my techno-horror 2-pager
http://members.cox.net/laberday/sync.pdf

Eero Tuovinen

Three books are considerably more expensive than just one. Mainly it's the binding, but the covers cost more as well of course. Otherwise it's a good idea, and something I myself consider routinely whenever working on a project. Many rpgs could benefit from being split up a bit.
Blogging at Game Design is about Structure.
Publishing Zombie Cinema and Solar System at Arkenstone Publishing.

Vulpinoid