News:

Forum changes: Editing of posts has been turned off until further notice.

Main Menu

Vonnegut's Crapshoot; or the way I run my games.

Started by quixoteles, November 19, 2007, 03:21:19 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

quixoteles

This is my first time submitting to the forum. I need to say something before I introduce the mechanic. People have fun in my games. A lot of fun. The laugh and howl and feel good. I am a feel good guy, kind of like an Master of Ceremony when I run. This is why I break one of the coolest rules ever, you know the one: "say yes, or roll dice." I love that design imperative, it's awesome, but

I run a dice-less game with a very light character creation framework and it goes like this: You are going to fail, or you are going to be screwed. The players are like a rabid coyote in a trap, they actually seem to enjoy biting off thier own legs to ensure their continued freedom.

For example player a want to shoot at player b with a sniper rifle. She is at the top of the tower and says she is ready to take the shot. I as the GM says: "If you take the shot people are going to notice you in your location and try to corner you in the building, you take the shot?"

player a says: "Fine. I jump out the window to another window and leave that way."

GM: "You do that I am make the exit to the building have some heavy opposition, if you just run out there you'll be outnumbered by superior forces. You okay with that?"

Player a: "What? you just said I escaped, how about I leave behind some evidence in my hurry to leave and when I slip into the crowd I had to leave it behind?"

GM: "Like what? The rifle itself?"

Player A: "A smoking gun, cool."