News:

Forum changes: Editing of posts has been turned off until further notice.

Main Menu

Weem's Skill, Attribute and Abilites Purchasing Structure

Started by weem, March 26, 2008, 04:45:54 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

weem

Well, it's finally time to make my first post here. Let me start off immediately by thanking you all, and especially Ron for the loads of information. I was so intimidated that before even getting to this point (posting this thread) I have spent days now reading everything I can find with regards to game design, the glossary's, Big Model info, everything.

With that said, I have been playing RPG's for over 19 years now (since I was 12 and am 31 now) and have always wanted to create my own system (have done some in the past, but those are old now) hence coming here.

I have finally written out some things that have been in my head recently and I wanted to get some eyes on them. What I have posted (link in a sec) is a system for purchasing skills, attributes and abilities. It's probably nothing too new, but it ties in nicely with a combat system I have been writing out (but I have left out of the following link to keep this first step as simple as possible).

So, to the point. I kept this as short as possible --- http://www.reddragonmaps.com/images/rpginfo/

What I need...

1/  I need to know if it's very far from original. What does that mean? It means, if it has been done in various ways before that's okay. If it's been overdone in many ways, let me know. For me, it's new, but then again, I have played... maybe 7-8 different RPG's and that is obviously a very very small number so what would I know.

2/  Either way (originality aside), what are your likes/dislikes about a system such as this

3/  Please, chew this apart if you don't like it. I don't think anyone here would hold back, but I need to know real thoughts on it's viability from you professionals, etc