News:

Forum changes: Editing of posts has been turned off until further notice.

Main Menu

New Idea: Gods and Demons, Priests and Paladins - Faith and its Consequences

Started by electricpaladin, June 04, 2008, 08:00:16 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

electricpaladin

Last time I came here, it was with a game that wasn't really very first thoughtsy. It was basically done, and it's still coming along nicely. But this one (I'm feeling prolific) is really very raw. I'm hoping you find it juicy and want to sink your teeth into it.

So, some musings on a game I'd like to create.

First, a little background on myself and my interests:

I have always been fascinated by religion. I majored in religion in college, with a focus in my native faith (Judaism), but I am deeply impressed by all religions. I also spent lots of time studying Islam and a little time studying Japanese religiosity.

My favorite religious motifs are monolatry and henotheism. Henotheism is the adherence to one deity, but without denying the existence or value of others. Monolatry is the worship of one god because the others are goons, not because the others don't exist. In the ancient middle east, monolatry was the rule of the day. The tribes had their various deities, and when the tribes went to war, they liked to imagine that their gods were going to war, too. The winner's god was clearly tougher than the loser's god, so the losers would all gladly convert to the religion of the winner – the innovation of Judaism was Jewish guilt, the belief that their god hadn't lost, he'd just abandoned them because they were bad! Anyway, when two tribes wanted to get together, they'd just 'discover' that their gods had become – or were all along – related. Sometimes gods would become each other's parents and children, or sometimes they'd get married, or turn out to be siblings. It's thought by some that this is how some pantheons formed.