News:

Forum changes: Editing of posts has been turned off until further notice.

Main Menu

Magic System Drop-In for Fudge - "Truth" and Concequences

Started by lilomar, December 31, 2008, 03:45:38 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

lilomar

Hi, I've lurked on these forums on and off for a while now, but this is my first time posting. Let me know if I'm doing anything wrong.

I am developing a magic system for use in a Fudge fantasy game I will eventually be GMing. For anyone who doesn't know, Fudge is a universal RPG 'engine' (previously bacronym'd to Freeform Universal Do-it-yourself Gaming Engine), basically the bare-bones of a role-playing system.

I recently got inspired to work up what I consider to be an interesting fantasy setting with a (as far as I know) unique magic system. I have decided to use Fudge to run a short campaign in this system due mainly to its simplicity and support for modularity in magic systems, combat, etc. (that, and I have been wanting to try out Fudge for a while now)

Bare with me, I need to explain some of the world in order for the magic system to make sense.

There are two forces (not gods, although they do manifest aspects of themselves as all of the gods of this world) Stability and Chaos. Chaos is what drives things to change, to progress, to live and to die. Stability is what keeps things from changing, to remain, to stagnate (although not in the sense of water stagnating, that would be Chaos' department, seeing as it is a change from fresh water to stagnant water). Magic stems from Chaos. Thus, the sapient creatures closest to Chaos, the elves, to a degree, but especially the fey, have the ability to change the world around them by drawing on life force, which is the essence of Chaos. Fey are almost pure Chaos (as trolls are almost pure Stability), and are limited in what they can do only by how much life force they have to draw on.