*
*
Home
Help
Login
Register
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
August 27, 2014, 09:20:10 PM

Login with username, password and session length
Forum changes: Editing of posts has been turned off until further notice.
Search:     Advanced search
275647 Posts in 27717 Topics by 4283 Members Latest Member: - otto Most online today: 65 - most online ever: 429 (November 03, 2007, 04:35:43 AM)
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Game Flow - what you do when  (Read 1373 times)
Guy Srinivasan
Member

Posts: 41


WWW
« on: February 15, 2009, 01:01:39 AM »

Mike, Robin, Eric, Thomas and I played our first session of Capes a few days ago. We started out fine, playing the first Scene with Capes Light, but near the end (our third Scene) things slowed to a crawl/halt/ohgod. That's about the time when we all had absorbed most of the surface implications of what we thought were the rules and started trying to game them some. Afterward it was clear we needed to reread the rule book + internet, since we got (or forgot) some rules wrong, and while it was fine when we were just playing without too much thought to strategy, not surprisingly missing or incorrect rules broke under pressure.

An example: if you are allowed to give Story Tokens to people who were never allied with an opposing side, then if no one opposes you on a conflict you've staked Debt on, they'll still get probabilistic Story Tokens.

So I've tried to put together a "what you do when" document that summarizes all the relevant points. It doesn't include Character Creation or gaining Debt or how often you can use Abilities or lots of other things, 'cause there are parts of the game we think we got right.

I'd appreciate it if you'd look it over and point out anything false, or important enough that its absence is glaring. Specifically I came up with these questions while writing it:

1) If you roll a die and it comes up the same as the previous value, and you accept or reject it, which side(s) (if any) are you allowed to ally with? (I think "any")
2) Are Conflicts resolved in turn order? (I think "yes")
3) Under exactly what circumstances is the creator of a Conflict not given a Story Token? (I think "he is allied with the winning side and has never been allied with another side")
4) Is the part at the end about Debt and Schisming functionally equivalent to the rules, excepting perhaps some corner cases that won't come up? (I think "yes")
Logged
5niper9
Member

Posts: 65

My name is René.


« Reply #1 on: February 15, 2009, 08:46:44 AM »

Logged
Guy Srinivasan
Member

Posts: 41


WWW
« Reply #2 on: February 15, 2009, 10:37:59 AM »

Yes! That is obvious. Cheesy

It's a corner case, but: if the creator of a Conflict was once allied to a losing side (or has another character currently allied to a losing side), can he get a Story Token even if he's currently allied to the winning side (from someone else who staked Debt on the winning side)?

Oh, at most Drive Debt total on a conflict, ever. That's good to know.

4a) From the Capes FAQ and other places there are all sorts of wacky examples like "I schism'd with 3 dice to a new side, and someone else Claimed it, and now I can move all of those dice to a brand new side leaving the Claimant with nothing!". Tony's said that whether Debt is associated with a specific die has never come up in AP, and that it's not strictly defined by the rules. It seems associating Debt with dice neatly covers almost all the possible cases and houserules the rest in a sane fashion. What I'm wondering is not whether the rules say Debt is associated with dice, but rather is this equivalent (has the same possible set of actions) to all the common cases of the rules, and does it break under stressing some corner case.
Logged
Pages: [1]
Print
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC
Oxygen design by Bloc
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!