News:

Forum changes: Editing of posts has been turned off until further notice.

Main Menu

Shakespearean Comedy RPG

Started by tzirtzi, February 17, 2009, 02:08:18 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

tzirtzi

Hello! :)

This is my first attempt at designing an RPG from scratch, though I've been playing role playing for a good number of years. I've drawn shamelessly from other indie RPGs which I've read - it's nothing very original, mechanics wise, I should think.

The concept is: a GM-less game which aims to imitate Shakespearean Comedy. The players play central characters plus a selection of minor ones, aiming to introduce and then eventually solve romantic conundrums in a Renaissance Mediterranean city. The mechanics involve individual dice pools which are increased by narrating comic elements and then used to narrate elements that have a more significant effect on the plot.

It can be found in its current form here.

Things I haven't dealt with yet:

• how exactly the game ends;
  • whether the players start with dice in their pool;
  • limitations on dice pools (such as by drawing from a central pool of prespecified size, or by limiting the size of die that can be won depending on the scene number);
  • preventing individual players from dominating the game.

Things I'm thinking of introducing:

• supernatural elements and more of a focus on locations;
  • introducing a mechanic around the five-act structure - the act number could determine whether conundrums could be resolved, the size of the die available, and the number to beat to undertake a significant action.

Any have any thoughts? Opinions? Criticism? Suggestions? All very much appreciated! :)

- tzirtzi

tzirtzi

tzirtzi

@Vulpinoid:

I can't send private messages yet so I'm going to reply here - I hope that's ok and that you see this post!