News:

Forum changes: Editing of posts has been turned off until further notice.

Main Menu

[D&D 1e] : The Nostalgia Of It All

Started by charles ferguson, March 13, 2009, 06:28:32 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

charles ferguson

Disclaimer: I don't really have a specific question or problem. Maybe one will emerge? Thing is I've been hanging out at the Forge for nearly 10 years and 99.9% of that time I've lurked. One reason is that when I have thought of posting my experiences I can never think of a specific problem that I want resolved, so I don't post. But I wanted to share this. I apologise if it's not appropriate for this forum, Ron -- let me know.

Last Wed night was my second session with a new group. We got together via nearbygamers. The idea was to start with an an oldskool dungeoncrawl and then see where things went. I was pretty geed up over it. I've kind of been pining for something along those lines for years. I love the simplicity of the old 1e blue book so I was looking forward.

First up was a half hour meetup: myself, Jules (the GM-guy, who'd instigated the meetup and the venue), James, and Ashok. Jules and Ashok know each other, the rest of us not. All guys, I'd guess early 30's to early 40s (that's me).

The first night's game there were 3 of us (Jules, Ashok & me) and then last time 2 more, James & a new guy, Chris (who couldn't make the meetup).