News:

Forum changes: Editing of posts has been turned off until further notice.

Main Menu

[The Waste] A first look at my resolution system

Started by Charlie Gilb, May 28, 2009, 10:10:03 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Charlie Gilb

Hello,

I am a rather neophyte game designer, and am working on a game with the working title "The Waste".

The Waste is a post-apocalyptic, party-based (though solo play is possible) horror/survival RPG. PCs would encounter mutant raiders, strange monsters, and crazed wastelanders as they each strive to maintain their Hope and Humanity.

The setting is still very much in-development, and nothing is really set in stone yet. Thematically, my main influences are Fallout (the video game) + Rustbelt + Don't Rest Your Head, with some of the mechanics more informed by FATEs Aspects, and John Harper's Lady Blackbird (I use a modified Trait mechanic, but we'll get to that some other time).

I wanted to post the skeleton of my resolution system here to see if I can gain some insights as to how it might shake out, primarily, the interactions between Hope, Humanity, Pain and Stress.

Here's a few terms, and roughly what they mean:

Hope- this is represented by a number, starting at 10. There should also be a sentence, which is essentially a character goal. The PCs' Hope is the reason that they continue to press onward and travel the Waste. Without Hope, man becomes a Slave; he can fight the Waste no longer.

Humanity- this is also represented by a number, probably a range between 1 and 20. Without Humanity, man becomes a Monster.

Stress- this is the GM's dice pool that he rolls against the PC's whenever there is a conflict. The number of dice is chosen based on both the difficulty, and relative importance of the task being undertaken.

Pain- this is a dice pool that the PC rolls against himself. Pain dice are earned and kept when a PC fails a conflict roll, and elects to 'Take the Pain'. You'll see how this works below.

========