News:

Forum changes: Editing of posts has been turned off until further notice.

Main Menu

[Spectre of the Beast] What's a little piracy among peaceful peoples?

Started by Joel P. Shempert, July 27, 2009, 03:43:47 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Joel P. Shempert

You know, I have been very, very stupid. I've been working on game design for a couple of years now, and I have completely ignored the Forge as a mine for ideas and developing them. Dunno why, maybe I was just wrapped up in the actual doing of it, and in my habitual online haunts, to think to poke those little buttons for First Thoughts and Playtesting. But no more! I need feedback and I'm gonna get it. So here goes!

I've been playtesting my 2008 Game Chef Entry, Spectre of the Beast, for several months now. It's gone very well; the game's been quite playable from the start and the process has been mostly refining techniques, jimmying numbers a bit, and clarifying the text to bring it more and more in line with what's actually working at the table. You can download the current text here. It's 48 pages including cover and artwork. If you want to support the game monetarily, you can purchase the PDF on RPGNow, or contact me for a print copy.

Spectre of the Beast is a game about the role of violence in civilization's progress. Play proceeds in Epochs of a made-up history; in each Epoch you play Champions of different Cultures, whose specific Ambitions will impact the world. You play through, rotating scene-style, the resolution of each Ambition one way or another, through accrued Victory or Defeat Points. Along the way you'll tackle specific obstacles through one of several Means scores, with the option of adding The Sword to a Means to render it violent or oppressive. Doing so is a potent aid in winning conflicts, but adds the chance of increasing misery in the world. Play flows from Epoch to Epoch as the hope and suffering of the world increase, vying with each other to create an armageddon or utopia.