News:

Forum changes: Editing of posts has been turned off until further notice.

Main Menu

Trying to Encourage Player Proactivity

Started by Ozymandias, August 02, 2002, 03:37:13 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Ozymandias

Alright, I've been reading these boards for quite some time now, and now I've finally gotten around to registering and posting in the hopes that I might be able to get a bit help with the main problem I'm facing in running games at the moment.

First, the Problem:

How can I encourage my players to be more proactive? Specifically, how can I get them to break out of purely using sim-based Actor stance and become more comfortable with a more Narrativist style utilizing both Author and Director stances?

And Now Some Background...

I started playing RPGs about 11 years ago, starting with Champions 4th Ed and then moving into Cyberpunk 2020. Then, about four years into playing I hooked up with a group that played pretty much exclusively Worlds of Darkness games. I stayed with that group for a number of years, but slowly got burned out on what began to feel to me like heavily railroaded games. This combined with a number of social issues that cropped up between me and a couple of members of the group caused me to part way with them after about three years. I went back to running Champions for bit but couldn't really seem to hold a steady group together, and while I would have some good sessions I just wasn't really enjoying gaming overall, so I just kinda gave up and took a two year hiatus.