*
*
Home
Help
Login
Register
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
September 17, 2014, 07:39:00 PM

Login with username, password and session length
Forum changes: Editing of posts has been turned off until further notice.
Search:     Advanced search
275647 Posts in 27717 Topics by 4283 Members Latest Member: - otto Most online today: 64 - most online ever: 429 (November 03, 2007, 04:35:43 AM)
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: [Sorcerer] Will in combat and rollover of successes  (Read 811 times)
Neon White
Member

Posts: 16


« on: September 08, 2009, 08:33:28 AM »

Logged

Adam
The Dragon Master
Member

Posts: 115


WWW
« Reply #1 on: September 08, 2009, 09:50:44 AM »

Just wanted to get some quick answers to you while waiting for one of the Sorcerer Grognards (compliment intended, I aspire to be such a Grognard someday ;-) ) come along to give more clear answers.

1) The successes only roll over to the next roll, not to all connected rolls. So, yes, if Phil got two successes on the second roll, he (might? Someone else will want to verify this one) end up with 2 bonus dice on the third roll, but not otherwise (though he'd get some bonus dice for his description as well).

2) See, in Sorcerer a Will roll can't force another character to do anything. What it is used for (mechanically) is to provide your character with bonus dice on your impending physical conflict with them. So if James were to alternate between attempting to talk the other guy out of his actions, and take a swing himself... well, that would be the best way I can think of to use will effectively in combat.
Logged

"You get what everone gets. You get a lifetime." -Death of the Endless
The names Tony

Sorcerer Workshop, Phoenix Comicon, May 27th - 30th 2010
Ron Edwards
Global Moderator
Member
*
Posts: 16490


WWW
« Reply #2 on: September 08, 2009, 12:48:47 PM »

Hiya,

Adam, technically the rollover-penalties are already accounted for in terms of damage (and in fact are nastier than typical rollovers, because they last longer and might even be higher given the right weapons). So stick with the "next roll" logic, which means the player is better off not harking back to the previous attack, but rather to the previous defense which was actually what should literally lead into the coming attack.

In other words, he got two bonus dice due to the damage he did to that guy. How did the defense get narrated? That's what can be tapped and applied (however many dice it beat the attack by) to the next action.

Regarding Will, the Dragon Master's answer is sound as the most basic/conservative application of the rules. However, modeling it to physical combat in such circumstances is a rules-consistent application too. So if you do that, then yes, 2xWill would be a good threshold for you as GM saying, "OK, this guy's been psychologically beaten down."

These two options aren't as different as they seem. Keep in mind that as GM you have the option of having the assailant back off given any degree of victory in trying to get him to do that. You don't have to make the NPC keep ravening forwards, given the successful roll. All you're doing with the 2xWill threshold is formalizing a useful cut-off point for you as GM in deciding whether he does or doesn't back off.

Best, Ron

Logged
Neon White
Member

Posts: 16


« Reply #3 on: September 09, 2009, 01:35:48 AM »

Thanks Ron and DM, the confirmation is always helpful to remove nagging doubts! 
Logged

Adam
The Dragon Master
Member

Posts: 115


WWW
« Reply #4 on: September 09, 2009, 07:59:48 AM »

Always happy to be of service.
Logged

"You get what everone gets. You get a lifetime." -Death of the Endless
The names Tony

Sorcerer Workshop, Phoenix Comicon, May 27th - 30th 2010
Pages: [1]
Print
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC
Oxygen design by Bloc
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!