*
*
Home
Help
Login
Register
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
October 31, 2014, 03:01:17 PM

Login with username, password and session length
Forum changes: Editing of posts has been turned off until further notice.
Search:     Advanced search
275647 Posts in 27717 Topics by 4283 Members Latest Member: - otto Most online today: 75 - most online ever: 429 (November 03, 2007, 04:35:43 AM)
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: [Misery Bubblegum] First Game Questions  (Read 2113 times)
Filip Luszczyk
Member

Posts: 746

roll-player


WWW
« on: November 22, 2009, 03:59:01 PM »

So, we've just finished our first session like half an hour ago. While the rules generally seem clear (I'm really fond of the slick non-linear presentation), and the game feels about as smart and fun as Capes, I wasn't quite certain about a few things:

1. When giving an opinion, should the card be passed openly or face-down? My guess is openly, but the fact that everyone can see what card you receive makes me wonder.

2. Is it possible for the GM to play the same phase more than once per game? Otherwise, what happens when the GM runs out of phases and there is no way to reach the climax (i.e. all draw slots full or too many cards in the deck and not enough drawing capacity)? Sounds like a possibility of a blue screen of death scenario to me, and since our game started rather slow, at times I've been afraid we might have not been able to go through the entire deck.

3. Likewise, can a player use cards 11-19 to return to an already closed phase?

4. When providing the group with difficulties and adversity, does the GM have to play his card for Stakes? My guess was the GM only plays his cards to defeat a player's card, give opinion or for a special effect, when applicable. Otherwise, if the GM actually plays a card to initiate adversity, it seems to me he'd suffer from awful shortages often. Most of the time I had only one or two cards at hand.

5. In Action phase, when the player plays a card for Stakes, but the GM doesn't play his own against it, is the GM considered the losing side for the purposes of drawing to the middle draw slot?
Logged

Filip Luszczyk
Member

Posts: 746

roll-player


WWW
« Reply #1 on: December 06, 2009, 09:10:42 AM »

Hmm, the forum seems defunct. Was the game abandoned? Did something perhaps happen to the author?
Logged

Eero Tuovinen
Acts of Evil Playtesters
Member

Posts: 2591


WWW
« Reply #2 on: December 07, 2009, 06:42:40 AM »

I don't know about the forum, but I might have an opinion on some of those questions.

1. No idea, but my guess would be that it doesn't matter, so do it either way you like.
2. You can repeat phases, I seem to remember seeing that in passing somewhere. The phase cards are a set of options for the GM to choose from.
3. Yes, based on the above answer.
4. No would be my guess, but it's not in any way authoritative. As you say, that seems like the more sensible choice.
5. Yeah, I suppose that the GM would be the loser. Again just guessing, really.
Logged

Blogging at Game Design is about Structure.
Publishing Zombie Cinema and Solar System at Arkenstone Publishing.
Graham W
Member

Posts: 437


WWW
« Reply #3 on: December 07, 2009, 09:11:21 AM »

1. Yeah, openly. Everyone knows what the opinion is, anyway, because you've said it.

2. Yes.

3. Yes.

4. Yes, I think you play cards to initiate adversity. It just means that a lot of the conflicts will be between the characters.

5. I think probably not, but it's a funny edge-case. Does that phase say "Draw a card when someone loses a conflict?" or something similar? If so, I think it should be a player. Personally speaking.
Logged
Filip Luszczyk
Member

Posts: 746

roll-player


WWW
« Reply #4 on: December 07, 2009, 03:43:28 PM »

Thanks.

4. This one's tricky, I can see. Has anybody played with the author, perhaps?

5. The wording is specifically "Draw a card when the GM loses Stakes." So, essentially it all depends on whether the GM is always considered a side in conflict, even if he didn't play a card. But then, I guess wording like "Draw a card when a player wins Stakes" would be much less ambiguous. Hmm, though now that I look at the phases description, "the GM" in this case might actually refer to an implied NPC enemy. Which ties to point 4, again Smiley
Logged

Pages: [1]
Print
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC
Oxygen design by Bloc
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!