News:

Forum changes: Editing of posts has been turned off until further notice.

Main Menu

Can winning by too much be a bad thing?

Started by J Tolson, January 04, 2010, 12:43:17 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

J Tolson

I've been developing a narrative-focused game for a few years and I think I am finally in the home stretch. Everything seems to be coming together fairly nicely, though there is still one issue that I am struggling with: target numbers for the conflict resolution system, and specifically if overshooting the target number should be good or bad. My question to you is if the following seems like a good idea or if it sounds like it is a recipe for pissing players off.

To attempt to briefly provide background: essentially, in order to complete an "Important Action" a player must invest energy (a limited resource) towards that action. This is opposed by someone else who wants to stop or mess with the action. Whoever invests the most energy "wins" the conflict resolution system and they get to narrate the outcome (the general gist of which is established before hand).

Winning is good, but winning by too much can be bad.

Let us say that player B has invested 10 energy. For player A to win, s/he has to invest at least 11. However, these amounts are hidden until the end of the resolution system, so s/he has to guess the correct amount. If Player A invests 11 then they'll win and get full narrative control. But if s/he overshoots that number, then while the goal will still be accomplished, the GM gets to add a twist. If s/he overshoots by a lot, the other players might get a chance to add their own twists as well.

To offer a quick example: player A wants to convince a magical guardian to give him/her a drink from a well of knowledge. He succeeds but overshot the desired energy expenditure. The character gets the drink, but this was achieved by accepting to pay an unpleasant price to the guardian (perhaps the character's right eye).