News:

Forum changes: Editing of posts has been turned off until further notice.

Main Menu

Syndrome

Started by asymmetrical, February 25, 2010, 09:55:44 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

asymmetrical

Hello everyone.

I'm an avid roleplayer who have tried my hand at writing rpg's a couple of times before, however I have to this day not been successfull for various reasons, so I thought that I would try my hand at doing it somewhat more systematically this time. In real life I work as a designer and programmer and thus I will use the methodology learned there.

First off I have made a sparse design-brief, and from that I have generated 20 ideas, picked the best ones and started another generationset in order to flesh out the borders of the world.

Now, my question to you all is this, have anyone used a method like this and is it any good? Any problems?

The design-brief looks as follows:
Pulp heroes are transported to another dimension having to explore the ruins of a lost civilization.

1: The other dimension is an old zoo and some of its inhabitants are a former servitor race to the        lost, as is humans, having killed there former masters are now trying to escape.
2: It is an old outpost to a civilization that engulfed itself in civil war and some of the inhabitants of that dimension is degenerated members to that civilization.
3: It is in all actuality an old terraforming ship sent to earth to colonize the planet.
4: It is a parallel universe whose laws of physics have started to crumble, the old civilization is still around, trying to escape.
5: It is an old alien battlefield where creatures and robots still fight a forgotten battle for a civilization that long ago destroyed itself.
6: It is a test, to see if a civilization is a threat enough to be destroyed, for those who are strong enough to "conquer" this dimension there can only await destruction.