News:

Forum changes: Editing of posts has been turned off until further notice.

Main Menu

Western standoff vs. Tension

Started by higgins, April 23, 2010, 07:54:43 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

higgins

Another question.

I really like the car chase example in the book and it can be beautifully applied to duels, swordfights and other conflicts to represent the upper hand coming a going until the final showdown. That's really cool! But...

Westerns.

I want to try out PTA soon, and it's going to be a western, or at least a western-themed series. I have very little indie gaming background (mainly TROS) and thus mu experience with stakes is almost nil. I don't think any of my player has come across a gaming systems that used stakes either, so, it's going to be a challenge... Especially since I have no idea how to use stakes to build tension in a standoff. There is no obligation to put one's life in danger when setting the stakes -- and indeed why should you -- there's no benefit whatsoever unless you really want to go out in a bang. Okay, there's also the chance that the narration rights go to someone who sees a loophole in your stake and kills off your character anyway, but especially in the middle of a season, that's just being a dick (unless everybody agrees of course).

So, what stakes would you use? How do you keep the standoff from becoming a safe (and boring) "Do I get the other guy?" affair...

P.S.
Oh, and what stakes would you use to define the three-way-standoff in The Good, the Bad and the Ugly? I thinking... Good/Bad went for "Can I beat/kill them both?") and Ugly went for "Will I get the money?". Good and Ugly beat the Producer. Good kills Bad and beats Ugly, who gets half the money. Any other thoughts?

Matt Wilson