*
*
Home
Help
Login
Register
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
December 22, 2014, 10:27:27 AM

Login with username, password and session length
Forum changes: Editing of posts has been turned off until further notice.
Search:     Advanced search
275647 Posts in 27717 Topics by 4283 Members Latest Member: - otto Most online today: 57 - most online ever: 429 (November 03, 2007, 04:35:43 AM)
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: FAQ - Please Ask Questions!  (Read 1823 times)
Eddy Fate
Member

Posts: 188


WWW
« on: September 13, 2002, 05:44:40 AM »

One thing we'd like to work on is a rules/system FAQ for Cartoon Action Hour.  At some point I'm going to go digging through the list and forum archives to see what I can find, but if you have any questions about Cartoon Action Hour rules, the system, or anything covered in the main rulesbook, feel free to ask!  We'll either add it to the FAQ, or make the change in the new version - either way, we'll answer it.

Thanks!
Logged

Eddy Webb
Vice-President, Spectrum Game Studios
Co-Line Developer for http://www.zmangames.com/CAH/">Cartoon Action Hour
http://www.shadowfist.com/html/store_CAH.htm">Order CAH online!
Wulf
Member

Posts: 141


« Reply #1 on: November 08, 2002, 12:57:17 PM »

Well, apparently everyone else thinks the system is perfect :-)

I have one small question though...

the SA Modifier Double Damage states damage should be doubled BEFORE protection is taken into account. Surely (don't call me Surely...) that's the wrong way round, damage should be doubled AFTER protection reduces it? After all, when a sword (double damage against flesh) hits your armour, it's hitting armour, not flesh. After it penetrates the armour, it hits flesh, so the damage gets doubled. That's the purpose of armour - it stops the hard pointy stuff getting to the squidgy bits.

Wulf
Logged
Eddy Fate
Member

Posts: 188


WWW
« Reply #2 on: November 08, 2002, 01:12:45 PM »

Quote from: Wulf
the SA Modifier Double Damage states damage should be doubled BEFORE protection is taken into account. Surely (don't call me Surely...) that's the wrong way round, damage should be doubled AFTER protection reduces it? After all, when a sword (double damage against flesh) hits your armour, it's hitting armour, not flesh. After it penetrates the armour, it hits flesh, so the damage gets doubled. That's the purpose of armour - it stops the hard pointy stuff getting to the squidgy bits.


Damned computer ate my first reply.  Grr.

Anyhow, you are essentially correct, except the fact that not all DSAs are actually armour.  Other things can cause Protection (which is the only component we're really concerned with here), such as the Thing's orange rocky skin.  However, if someone shoots the Thing with an Acid Gun that does Double Damage to rock, all the Protection in the world really isn't going to help that much.

Due to the universal nature of the system, Cindi just made a decision to double damage before Protection.  That is the "official" answer.

However, if you want to say that "normal" armour doubles damage AFTER Protection, you can either just reinterpret the rules for your group, or give "normal" armour DSAs a Misc. Major Effect "Double Damage Weapons Double After Protection Modifications, Not Before".  This will make Double Damage less effective, so just keep that in mind.
Logged

Eddy Webb
Vice-President, Spectrum Game Studios
Co-Line Developer for http://www.zmangames.com/CAH/">Cartoon Action Hour
http://www.shadowfist.com/html/store_CAH.htm">Order CAH online!
Wulf
Member

Posts: 141


« Reply #3 on: November 08, 2002, 01:26:56 PM »

Quote from: Eddy Fate
Anyhow, you are essentially correct, except the fact that not all DSAs are actually armour.  Other things can cause Protection (which is the only component we're really concerned with here), such as the Thing's orange rocky skin.  However, if someone shoots the Thing with an Acid Gun that does Double Damage to rock, all the Protection in the world really isn't going to help that much.


Hmm... my answer to that would be that the acid wasn't damaging the rock, it's damaging the Thing - and under that skin, he's NOT rock, so it doesn't double! If it actually REDUCED the Protection, it would count...  Anyway, I'd say his skin was still organic, not rock...

What you are describing is more like Armour Piercing or Disintegrate Matter (Rock).

Wulf
Logged
Eddy Fate
Member

Posts: 188


WWW
« Reply #4 on: November 08, 2002, 01:32:14 PM »

Quote from: Wulf
Hmm... my answer to that would be that the acid wasn't damaging the rock, it's damaging the Thing - and under that skin, he's NOT rock, so it doesn't double!


Depends on which version of the FF you're thinking of.  The one I'm thinking of, his actual skin was turned into rock.  Of course, it's also been years, so I could be on crack.

Let's take another example - a stone golem.  Same situation.  Again, double damage seems to apply before Protection.  Or a werewolf hit with silver, who has the "Tough Skin" DSA.  Or a superhero that just shrugs off damage like Superman.  Or whatever.  The genre has examples of both types of Protection, so it can work either way.
Logged

Eddy Webb
Vice-President, Spectrum Game Studios
Co-Line Developer for http://www.zmangames.com/CAH/">Cartoon Action Hour
http://www.shadowfist.com/html/store_CAH.htm">Order CAH online!
Wulf
Member

Posts: 141


« Reply #5 on: November 08, 2002, 01:40:58 PM »

...maybe armour in an Item would reduce damage before doubling. Another implication of Items.

 I still wouldn't double damage to what's BEHIND armour unless it's the SAME substance as the armour though... Stone Golems I'll give you, on that criterion :-) Werewolf skin I would treat as different to flesh, and Superman uses a skintight Force Field ...

Wulf
Logged
Eddy Fate
Member

Posts: 188


WWW
« Reply #6 on: November 08, 2002, 03:09:47 PM »

Quote from: Wulf
I still wouldn't double damage to what's BEHIND armour unless it's the SAME substance as the armour though... Stone Golems I'll give you, on that criterion :-) Werewolf skin I would treat as different to flesh, and Superman uses a skintight Force Field ...


Totally cool!  However you want to run it works.  :-)
Logged

Eddy Webb
Vice-President, Spectrum Game Studios
Co-Line Developer for http://www.zmangames.com/CAH/">Cartoon Action Hour
http://www.shadowfist.com/html/store_CAH.htm">Order CAH online!
Cynthia Celeste Miller
Member

Posts: 268


WWW
« Reply #7 on: November 09, 2002, 06:22:32 AM »

Eddy beat me to the punch here.  Again.  LOL!

I'm merely here to say that we encourage you to adjust existing modifiers (or create new ones) as you see fit.  The CP cost for Double Damage was based on doubling it before Protection takes effect.  So if you run it the other way, I suggest adjusting the CP cost to match.  

Just a thought.  :)
Logged

Cynthia Celeste Miller
President, Spectrum Games
www.spectrum-games.com
Pages: [1]
Print
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC
Oxygen design by Bloc
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!