News:

Forum changes: Editing of posts has been turned off until further notice.

Main Menu

An introduction, a game, and a question

Started by ethan_greer, October 07, 2002, 10:00:05 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

ethan_greer

An introduction:
Hello all, I recently stumbled across The Forge and have been lurking about for the past week or so.  I must say I'm impressed with what I've seen.  Many of the people here seem to have a focus and depth of knowledge on RPGs that I know better than to try and emulate, but I've enjoyed the conversations I've witnessed so here I am attempting to start one myself.

A game:
I wrote a game about a year ago called Toast and posted it online at this address:

http://www.simplephrase.com/toast/

(Uses frames)

Anyone wishing to take a look at it is welcome to do so, although I should point out that it's my first attempt at game authorship, and I'm not terribly fond of it anymore.  The reason I point it out is because my players really enjoyed it when I ran it, and I also feel that certain aspects of it would be of interest or use to other game designers here.

Of particular interest in Toast (IMO, of course) are the following elements:
- The d10+ dice mechanic
- The handling of wounds
- The skill list is a fairly detailed list that would be suitable for a skill-centric fantasy game.

I am certainly open to discussion about Toast if anyone wishes to comment.

Lastly, a question:
I have another system in the works called Pollies.  It's a universal system I'm currently quite pleased with.  I intend on posting it and making it freely available, but I have not yet had the opportunity to playtest it.  The question is, should I post it and create a thread for it, or should I wait until I've playtested and tweaked it?

Jonathan Walton

Since you were nice enough to post on my thread, I thought I'd return the favor...

Quote from: silkworm