News:

Forum changes: Editing of posts has been turned off until further notice.

Main Menu

Karma Damage, meta-experience idea

Started by Aelios, December 04, 2002, 05:33:32 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Aelios

I'm new to The Forge but have been lurking for a few days, so forgive me if something similar has been discussed before. I'm looking for creative criticism that will help me design a system for my particular setting and play goals.

While reading one of the threads on Attribute + Skill and Currency I thought of the following as a possible system for character damage and experience, as well as being both currency and providing a meta-game mechanic. Quite a lofty goal I know, but I think it could work.

Every character starts with a "pool" of 10 Karma.
Every session each player is given 1 Karma token.
When a player thinks another player has played excepionally well they present the token, which adds +1 to the (permanent) Karma pool. This is how characters gain "experience."
Karma can be used in the following ways:
-Every time a character loses an opossed action they burn/spend/use 1 Karma point (temporary); unless the result would cause physical damage, in which case the Karma pool is "damaged" 1 point (long term).
-Points can be spent permanently to raise an attribute/skill/talent.
-A point can be spent (pemanently) to give the player temporary GM powers (director stance) over the current scene.
-A point can be used (temporarily) to gain automatic success.

The Karma pool "heals" 1 damage per day/week/whatever.
The Karma pool "refreshes" temporary burn/expenditure/use every scene/day/whatever.
If the Karma pool becomes depleted the character is exausted/knocked down/swooned and all futhur actions are minimally effective. No character ever dies unless they are intentionally murdered.

This mechanic combines several ideas and seems like it would accomplish many things without being overly complex.