News:

Forum changes: Editing of posts has been turned off until further notice.

Main Menu

Ember Twilight: Setting vs. System

Started by Ashlin_Evenstar, February 12, 2003, 07:48:21 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Ashlin_Evenstar

Greetings!

I believe this is my first time to start a thread here, so forgive my nervousness. :)  But I've run into a dilemma and I'd very much like your advice.  In my game, I have made an effort to keep the setting content separated from my system content as much as possible.  I want the setting to be interesting and fun to read without being interrupted by useless rules lingo and numbers all the time.  Likewise, I want my rules section to be clear, concise, and to the point.  The division that I make between the two isn't absolute, but I try to keep crossover to a minimum.

My problem arises from the fact that I would like to include a canned campaign at the end.  Not anything big, just a 20 page or so campaign that can be run fresh outta the oven to help get the players'/GM's feet wet.  I am not sure which section it belongs it.  It deals a lot with setting, of course, but it also has a fair amount of numbers and system lingo.  If you guys had to choose, where would you prefer it? In the setting or in the system? I'm open to all suggestions, and thank you in advance.

Peace,

-Ash

ethan_greer

I would make the campaign a separate section.  So you'd have three sections, not necessarily in this order - system, setting, campaign.

Unless you're planning on having two and only two book-type things, to be published separately.  In which case I would say the campaign belongs with the setting info.  If the campaign is supposed to take place within the setting, it makes more sense to me to include it with the setting materials than with the system.

Oh, and welcome to the Forge!

peteramthor