*
*
Home
Help
Login
Register
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
April 22, 2019, 04:37:40 PM

Login with username, password and session length
Forum changes: Editing of posts has been turned off until further notice.
Search:     Advanced search
275647 Posts in 27717 Topics by 4285 Members Latest Member: - Jason DAngelo Most online today: 41 - most online ever: 429 (November 03, 2007, 04:35:43 AM)
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Multiple opponents & rule Questions...  (Read 932 times)
Jaeger
Member

Posts: 73


« on: February 16, 2003, 05:11:48 PM »

According to the rules when you want to face only 1 opponent out of 2 if you make your maneuver role out of your combat pool and succed your opponent doesn't have any say in the matter.

  The group I play with came up with a sort of house rule we've been thinking about using....

 If you take 3 dice out of your CP to only fight 1 opponent of 2, the mook you're trying to avoid can contest this role to stay with you and make you fight both: he uses dice out of his CP at TN + 1 to your movement TN, + any diffrence between the movement attribute between the player and mook, and he must get more sucesses on his role. Ties go in favor of the player.

  So the two bad guys #'s 1&2 has a move of 7 and 13 CP - the player takes 4 dice out of his CP and decides to make a maneuver role to only face one. At TN 6 he role and gets 3 successes! He only faces baddie #1.
Evil doer #2 objects to this and decides to try a move of his own...  Hs TN is 7 (6+1) both his and the PC's move is 7 so there are no positive or negative mods. He uses 7 CP dice and gets 4 sucesses! The PC must now face both opponents but one only has a CP of 6, but then again he's down 4 dice himself...

  Any opinions? Yea or Nay???

Oh, when you buy initiative and are successful is that it or does the opposing NPC/PC get to use his remaining dice to try and buy it back? I would say no, it was a contested role and you don't get to try and buy it back with your remaining dice.

And when raising ones attributes - on the table provided if the left hand column is the cost to raise the current attribute to the next level, and the max attribute score is ten, then, shouldn't the table actually be like this:

Att     -   Cost
 1      -       2
 2      -       4
 3      -      7
 4      -      10
 5      -      13
 6      -     16
 7      -     19
 8      -      22
 9      -      25
10     -        -

Instead of what's in the book and the downloadable online tables?? Of course this might have been fixed in the second printing, and I could be misreading the rule.


Later...
Logged

I care not.
Jake Norwood
Member

Posts: 2261


WWW
« Reply #1 on: February 16, 2003, 06:52:55 PM »

Quote
And when raising ones attributes - on the table provided if the left hand column is the cost to raise the current attribute to the next level, and the max attribute score is ten, then, shouldn't the table actually be like this:

Att - Cost
1 - 2
2 - 4
3 - 7
4 - 10
5 - 13
6 - 16
7 - 19
8 - 22
9 - 25
10 - -

Instead of what's in the book and the downloadable online tables?? Of course this might have been fixed in the second printing, and I could be misreading the rule.


Remember that with modifiers many folks can go past 10.

Jake
Logged

"Civilized men are more discourteous than savages because they know they can be impolite without having their skulls split, as a general thing." -R.E. Howard The Tower of the Elephant
___________________
www.theriddleofsteel.NET
Darth Tang
Member

Posts: 64


WWW
« Reply #2 on: February 16, 2003, 09:07:23 PM »

I'm handling it by working out maneuvers intended to affect two foes, splitting the CP between the two actions in accordance with the book. These require higher skill and stats, but not too bad.
Logged

The answer to the Riddle of Steel: use a bow. From behind a wall. While they're asleep. The Riddle of Steel is to stay out of reach.
Pages: [1]
Print
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC
Oxygen design by Bloc
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!