News:

Forum changes: Editing of posts has been turned off until further notice.

Main Menu

Setting-Premise Nar. vs. Setting Exploration Sim.

Started by jburneko, February 06, 2003, 04:04:15 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Le Joueur

Hey Paul, Jack,

Quote from: Paul CzegeYeah, there's a very strong relationship between metaplot and Setting-Exploration Simulationism.
I'm no expert, but I woulda sworn meta-plot was a function of a 'changing Situation,' not a temporal-coded Setting.  If I understand right, Setting-based Narrativism forces the player to have their character breach the conventions of the setting with their 'theme¹' and Character-based Narrativism pits the player (and their character) against the conventions of the character to create 'theme¹.'  That's why the 'bushido breach' is the act of Character-based Narrativism and 'bushido restrictions' were the arrangement of Character-Explorative Simulationism.

It seems like 'what suffers' is where the Narrativism is.  If the Character 'does what they do' and suffers for it, it's Character-based; therefore, if the Character does what they do, and the Setting suffers for it, it'd be Setting-based.

But I'm not expert.

Fang Langford

¹ Excuse me for a minute while I spit out that word, using in this fashion runs so counter to my training as a writer and critic.  Still, this is communication....

edit: Come to think of it Situation-based Meta-plot is common but usually thought negatively about and Setting-based Meta-plot saves the game from 'what happens if we kill off a major player in the Meta-plot.'  I'm gettin' fergetful, must be 'Oldtimers Disease.'
Fang Langford is the creator of Scattershot presents: Universe 6 - The World of the Modern Fantastic.  Please stop by and help!

Ron Edwards

Aaarrgh,

We aren't fucking talking about fucking metapl ---

Wait. Breathe. Wait.