News:

Forum changes: Editing of posts has been turned off until further notice.

Main Menu

weapons for peasants

Started by Ashren Va'Hale, April 20, 2003, 07:37:25 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Ashren Va'Hale

What kind of proficincies would a peasant likely have?
Philosophy: Take whatever is not nailed down, for the rest, well thats what movement is for!

Ryuuko

Now I'm no expert but I'd say that it depends on where you are from.

Some places (like Stahl) allow peasents to carry metal weapons so they would naturally be somewhat proficient with whatever weapon they owned. IE if they owned a sword they'd probably swung it around a couple times. Also a good chunk of people would probably be at least minimally proficient with a dagger.

In general though I'd probobably say that it would be mass weapon and shield, just probably without the shield...for clubs and other blunt farming tools.  

Occationally if the peasant were a hunter it may be possible for them to have a bow and so would be proficient in that too.

This is what I use in general for my campaigns.

Hope that helped,
Kevin
"Reality is for those who lack Imagination"

arxhon

I agree with mass weapon and shield, as well as bows.

Spears are fairly lowly weapons, as are pikes, and would probably be found in the hands of peasants, but you would generally only see these in mustered levies.

kanseg

Quotegenerally only see these in mustered levies.