News:

Forum changes: Editing of posts has been turned off until further notice.

Main Menu

Communal Language (or perhaps Lingua Illudo)

Started by Le Joueur, October 24, 2001, 10:28:00 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Le Joueur

I've brought this over from the "The 4 steps of action (for Ron)" discussion in GNS Model Discussion.

Pardon my Latin (I have never made a study of it) if the title here is wrong.

QuoteRon Edwards wrote:

Quotin' Fang for emphasis:
"I believe this kind of communal unspoken agreement stuff underpins a great deal of role-playing gaming yet receives almost no discussion."

Exactly. I've been chafing for over two years to get to this level of discussion, yet until now have been tripped up by the continual need to clarify GNS. With any luck, that stage is over.
Frankly, I gave up a long time ago getting to the 'meat' of this discussion.  I formalized my thoughts on the matter almost ten years ago, but who to talk to?

Please let me paraphrase what has gone before; back in the other thread Ron broke down how a declaration is viewed by the participants in a game.  He used four divisions (allow me to suggest alternate terminology).

• Intention: the declaration is what the participant desires the subject to perform; the manner or even possibility must first be addressed.

• Execution: the declaration represents the actual action of the subject; success and results must follow.

• Conclusion: the declaration corresponds to the finish of the act leaving only the results to be determined.

• Resolution: the declaration stands for how the action is fully and finally resolved.[/list:u]In a role-playing game without any hint of interpretation commonality, many statements can be looked upon in all four of these fashions.  Ron has done an excellent job dividing them.