News:

Forum changes: Editing of posts has been turned off until further notice.

Main Menu

A Shot in the Dark

Started by Ben Lehman, October 16, 2003, 02:13:27 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Ben Lehman

So, I'm planning on expanding on "Over the Bar --" the ultralite "bar game" that I laid out in this thread.  A more complete version is available via PM.

http://www.indie-rpgs.com/viewtopic.php?t=8163

This supplement (The First) will most likely be called "A Shot in the Dark."  It will (hopefully) also be able to fit on a two-sided 8 1/2 x 11 sheet of paper.

There are two things I want to cover in this supplement -- if it gets too big, I will split it into two.  The first is narration and narration rights.  The second is a general method for other people to produce Over the Bar supplements, because I am laboring under the delusion that someone might want to do that.

As these are both areas in which I have little experience, I thought I would post for general comments.  Also, Over the Bar dearly loves all commentary which can be fodder for the "Critics praise (supplement name)" section.

Quote from: rules text
Narrator:
 At any point during an "Over the Bar" game, one player will take on the role of a narrator (also called an arbiter, or game master) -- someone who rules on the difficulty of tasks, controls non player characters and the environment, judges opposed challenges, and is generally responsible for the welfare of the game.  It is highly recommended that participants resist the temptation this person the "Bartender," "Barkeep," or other cute name, as this may generate confusion in Over the Bar's preferred play area.

Initial Narrator:
 Whichever player is hosting or buying chooses the intial narrator.  If there is no such person to decide, the player with the highest alchohol capacity serves the role.  If there is some dispute over alchohol capacity, settle it via some random method (the author recommends a game of guessfingers).

Changing Narrators: