News:

Forum changes: Editing of posts has been turned off until further notice.

Main Menu

First-Time RPG Designer Needs Help

Started by F. Scott Banks, October 19, 2003, 03:37:58 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

F. Scott Banks

I'd like to start off by thanking you for your patience in this post.  I am a writer by trade and have little experience with designing game mechanics.  Simply put, I have written a story that I think can be better enjoyed as an interactive game rather than as a static novel.

I won't bore you with the intracacies of plot and such (send me a message if you like and I'll respond with as much storyline as you want) but the game design I'd come up with was pretty basic.  Using six attributes; strength, intelligence, dexterity, perception, endurance and willpower, I'd come up with part of a character creation system that involves characters posessing a primary atribute and a secondary attribute.  If the primary attribute were...say, strength, and the secondary were...dexterity, then that character would be a decent fighter.

The problem I run into thus far is leveling.  Using my current system, high level characters are absurdly unbalanced, their primary and secondary attributes being far higher than their other four stats.

I'm sure I'll run into other problems as I try to make my first game, but so far, it's this one that's got me hemmed up.  Any help would be appreciated.

Ben Lehman

If you could give a little more context (what characters do in the story, what the rest of the system functions like, how closely you want to tie the story to the fictional work, etc.) it would be enormously helpful.  Do not be afraid to provide a link to the system wholesale.

My initial thought is:  If the players are only going to be playing for a short, defined time (the length of the story) then why bother with advancement at all?

yrs--
--Ben

Mike Holmes

WK, welcome to The Forge,