News:

Forum changes: Editing of posts has been turned off until further notice.

Main Menu

MythDeck: supershort 1pg storygame for newbies

Started by DevP, January 15, 2004, 12:56:27 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

DevP

MythDeck

Purposes:
(1) A game really, honestly designed for absolute newbies who know zero roleplayers and know a few jokes about RPGs, but will pick this up and play it, and get drawn to this hobby.
(2) This will fit on one side of one page and look awesome, and it will be postered up at random locations.
(2a) Such a brief game will have flaws necessarily; this is okay.
(2b) Any space spent addressing said flaws will not be available for the Awesome Layout. (see #4) Consider this and act accordingly.
(3) Take the core system and specifically spin it (and the setting) for specific subcultures that could accept roleplaying.
(3a) In this case, make this fit for putting up and punk shows and getting played by indie kids at diners, just maybe. (So we can move towards getting our games at Hot Topic or such. Read Ron's old editorial on http://www.indie-rpgs.com/viewtopic.php?t=4223">Mainstream, y'know?)
(3b) That community already has niche markets, a crossover with the "geek" population, propensity towards alternative/"bizzare" activites, etc.
(4) Eye-catching layout, as possible. (With my current skills, this just means "White text on black", but I'm working on it.)

---
PLAYSTYLE: Make a world, make characters, play until you finish. Have a deck of cards and radio (background music) ready.

WORLD-CREATION: You've Heard This Before.

"These stories takes place in worlds like ours, but little twisted." Gothic horror, political violence, conspiracy theories, etc. - basically all the urban legends exist to some extent.