The Forge Archives

Independent Game Forums => lumpley games => Topic started by: Solamasa on November 24, 2004, 10:35:00 AM



Title: [DitV] Simple Conflict Question
Post by: Solamasa on November 24, 2004, 10:35:00 AM
The rules stipulate that if you can't See a Raise, you have to Give.  But who Gives when you can See just fine, but neither you nor your opponent(s) can then Raise?

-kit


Title: [DitV] Simple Conflict Question
Post by: lumpley on November 24, 2004, 11:03:07 AM
Good question!

Your only choices when it's your turn are Raise or Give. There's no passing. If you can't or won't Raise - for whatever reason, including you've got no dice - you have to Give.

The reason I guess it's not spelled out in the text is that I've never seen it happen in play, so I didn't think to mention it. It's pretty rare for both sides to run out of dice at the same moment or close enough. When that happens, universally in my experience, the player can find some Trait to bring to bear or come up with some improvised thing, for that one precious winning die.

But generally if one side runs out of dice, the other side will still have some, so scrambling for a non-obvious Trait to use or an improvised thing isn't worth it, you've lost anyway, so you Give.

-Vincent


Title: Further conundrums
Post by: Vagabond on December 06, 2004, 08:26:23 PM
I too have a similar question. Here's the situation:
My opponent rolls 6 dice, I roll 5. I raise first. Then, half-way through conflict resolution, I throw in another die to account for a trait I used. So then the last round is: I raise, opponent sees, now we both have no dice. Who wins? My opponent can't raise. Do they lose? Seems unfair if so.[/quote]


Title: [DitV] Simple Conflict Question
Post by: lumpley on December 07, 2004, 06:24:20 AM
Yep. Raise or Give, those are your opponent's choices. Your opponent can surely find another die somewhere, but if not, must Give.

Starting pool doesn't figure, by the way, because of Seeing with 1 die and Seeing with 3 or more dice. You aren't always trading two dice back and forth.

-Vincent


Title: [DitV] Simple Conflict Question
Post by: Joshua A.C. Newman on December 07, 2004, 10:46:12 AM
... you guys don't have the right traits if you're only throwing 4 or 5 dice at a time. You can remember by this little poem:

Dice hittin' table
Sound like rain
Must be playin'
Dogs again!