The Forge Archives

Inactive Forums => Chimera Creative => Topic started by: John Harper on April 21, 2006, 01:27:14 PM



Title: Timing actions: Burning Muse points and restoring Arete/Hubris
Post by: John Harper on April 21, 2006, 01:27:14 PM
This is a question of action sequence. I don't think the rules specify anything here, so I'll throw it out for general discussion.

Let's say my Archon gets womped by an enemy and my Arete is reduced to zero -- I'll die unless I sacrifice a Muse to restore my Arete to its permanent rating. Which of course I will do. Now, here's the question:

Before I sacrifice the Muse, I burn off all but 1 point of it and use those points as normal. Then I sacrifice the now 1-point Muse and restore my Arete. Is this legal?

When does burning a Muse fall in the order of actions in relation to sacrificing a Muse to live?


Title: Re: Timing actions: Burning Muse points and restoring Arete/Hubris
Post by: Vaxalon on April 21, 2006, 01:46:07 PM
In the game that Matt runs on Skype, we're encouraged to keep a few low-value muses around for burning this way.

Personally, I just try to keep out of situations where I'm going to lose Arete/Hubris