The Forge Archives

Independent Game Forums => lumpley games => Topic started by: Andrew Cooper on May 23, 2007, 08:43:15 AM



Title: Giving in DitV
Post by: Andrew Cooper on May 23, 2007, 08:43:15 AM
There are a couple of threads in Actual Play concerning DitV and one of them is discussing Giving during a conflict and the conversation there is making me think that I'm playing incorrectly.  Here's my understanding of Giving...

GM:  (raising)  Jeb takes his gun out and shoots you in the face.
Me:  I don't want to take it that far.  I give.

The result is that Jeb didn't shoot me in the face and I don't take Fallout from it.  Giving cancels out the Raise that I gave in to.

The other thread seems to be saying that Giving means I still get shot in the face, there just aren't any mechanical consequences to it (ie. I don't take Fallout.)

Which is correct and is there a page number in the book that I can refer to?


Title: Re: Giving in DitV
Post by: lumpley on May 23, 2007, 01:08:54 PM
Either. As the giver it's your choice which, case by case.

Here's what I've said about it before, very slightly edited:

When you give, you're entitled to say how your character gives - that is, what your character does with the outstanding raise - and you don't take fallout. Those are the rules.

In play, you'll find that the fictional events have momentum. Since the outcome is the same either way - your character stops swearing (for example) and you take no fallout - sometimes you'll choose to go along with the final raise, sometimes you'll choose to block or dodge it. There's no rule about which you must choose under what circumstances.

-Vincent


Title: Re: Giving in DitV
Post by: Moreno R. on May 23, 2007, 04:25:49 PM
Just as a precisation: I play like this for EVERY block of a raise. The player who block can say how much of the stated raise happened, keeping in consideration the narrative continuity of the actions.  It's correct?



Title: Re: Giving in DitV
Post by: Andrew Cooper on May 23, 2007, 05:07:26 PM
Okay.  I think I've got it.  If you Give you can decide to Block or Dodge the last Raise or you can just roll with it.  Regardless, Fallout is avoided.


Title: Re: Giving in DitV
Post by: lumpley on May 24, 2007, 06:36:11 AM
Moreno: yes. Good point.

-Vincent