The Forge Forums Read-only Archives
The live Forge Forums
|
Articles
|
Reviews
Welcome,
Guest
. Please
login
or
register
.
August 09, 2022, 05:37:27 AM
1 Hour
1 Day
1 Week
1 Month
Forever
Login with username, password and session length
Forum changes:
Editing of posts has been turned off until further notice.
Search:
Advanced search
275647
Posts in
27717
Topics by
4285
Members Latest Member:
-
Jason DAngelo
Most online today:
65
- most online ever:
565
(October 17, 2020, 02:08:06 PM)
The Forge Archives
Independent Game Forums
Adept Press
(Moderator:
Ron Edwards
)
[Trollbabe] Injuries, and Error in text 2? :)
Pages: [
1
]
« previous
next »
Author
Topic: [Trollbabe] Injuries, and Error in text 2? :) (Read 3130 times)
Darren Hill
Member
Posts: 861
[Trollbabe] Injuries, and Error in text 2? :)
«
on:
April 04, 2004, 04:27:15 AM »
On page 20:
Quote
An injured character ignores the “discommoded" step and proceeds to further injury right away on a failed roll; therefore she is limited to a total of two re-rolls instead of three. Multiple injuries continue this process, such that a doubly-injured character proceeds directly to incapacitation with a failed roll, and a triply-injured one proceeds all the way to the end of the series.
My first question - how does one become triply injured?
After being doubly injured, you go straight to incapacitated - but while incapacitated you can't get involved in a new Series.
My main question: when performing Action by Action or Exchange by Exchange, does a discommode carry over from series to series.
Say, on the first series, I fail but choose not to take a reroll. I am discommoded.
Then on the second series, I fail - is this a discommode or an injury? I think it's another discommode, but I want to be sure.
Logged
Words to live by
Bob McNamee
Member
Posts: 685
[Trollbabe] Injuries, and Error in text 2? :)
«
Reply #1 on:
April 04, 2004, 05:10:17 AM »
Its a discommode.
I was originally making the mistake of counting it as going to Injury during my first game. As a result I couldn't see why anybody wouldn't Reroll.
After, the Discommode explaination was given (discommode fail...goes to discommode on next series, not injury) it made sense why you would stop at first fail.
Logged
Bob McNamee
Indie-netgaming
- Out of the ordinary on-line gaming!
Ron Edwards
Global Moderator
Member
Posts: 16490
[Trollbabe] Injuries, and Error in text 2? :)
«
Reply #2 on:
April 04, 2004, 08:11:14 AM »
Hi Darren,
Here are the older threads to check out:
Trollbabe questions & comments
Some Trollbabe questions
Trollbabe injury
Trollbabes and social injury
Quote
My main question: when performing Action by Action or Exchange by Exchange, does a discommode carry over from series to series.
It does, if we're talking about a string of series in a single conflict (i.e. Pace is either exchange-by-exchange or blow-by-blow, but not whole-conflict). Discommodes do not carry over from conflict to conflict of any kind, though.
Best,
Ron
P.S. My friend Tod just told me that "discommode" makes him think of a toilet with little reflective mirrors all over it, suspended above a dance floor, spinning about ...
Logged
Darren Hill
Member
Posts: 861
[Trollbabe] Injuries, and Error in text 2? :)
«
Reply #3 on:
April 04, 2004, 08:47:06 AM »
Quote from: Ron Edwards
Hi Darren,
Quote
My main question: when performing Action by Action or Exchange by Exchange, does a discommode carry over from series to series.
It does, if we're talking about a string of series in a single conflict (i.e. Pace is either exchange-by-exchange or blow-by-blow, but not whole-conflict). Discommodes do not carry over from conflict to conflict of any kind, though.
Just to make sure we're on the same page, can you clarify the following:
Say, I'm doing an Action By Action Fighting conflict (win 3 out of 5).
Which of the following is accurate:
A)
In the first action I fail, so I'm discommoded. I choose not to reroll.
In the second action I fail again - so I'm discommoded.
B)
In the first action I fail, so I'm discommoded. I choose not to reroll.
In the second action I fail again - so I'm Injured.
Which of the these is right:
A)
In the first action I fail, so I'm discommoded. I reroll, and fail again. I'm injured now.
In the second action I fail again - so I'm doubly injured.
B)
In the first action I fail, so I'm discommoded. I reroll, and fail again. I'm injured now.
In the second action I fail again - so I'm incapacitated.
I think now the correct answer is B to both, but I had thought it was A. If B is correct, you could easily refer to the whole sequence of rolls in a Conflict as a single Series, since even if you do Action By Action, you technically only have a total of 3 rerolls available.
Quote from: Ron Edwards
P.S. My friend Tod just told me that "discommode" makes him think of a toilet with little reflective mirrors all over it, suspended above a dance floor, spinning about ...
My first thought upon seeing the term was similar: "dis commode? no, dat commode."
PS thanks for the links.
Logged
Words to live by
rafial
Member
Posts: 594
[Trollbabe] Injuries, and Error in text 2? :)
«
Reply #4 on:
April 04, 2004, 01:11:34 PM »
Quote from: demiurgeastaroth
Just to make sure we're on the same page, can you clarify the following:
Say, I'm doing an Action By Action Fighting conflict (win 3 out of 5).
Which of the following is accurate:
A)
In the first action I fail, so I'm discommoded. I choose not to reroll.
In the second action I fail again - so I'm discommoded.
B)
In the first action I fail, so I'm discommoded. I choose not to reroll.
In the second action I fail again - so I'm Injured.
Which of the these is right:
A)
In the first action I fail, so I'm discommoded. I reroll, and fail again. I'm injured now.
In the second action I fail again - so I'm doubly injured.
B)
In the first action I fail, so I'm discommoded. I reroll, and fail again. I'm injured now.
In the second action I fail again - so I'm incapacitated.
By my understanding, it is A in both cases.
In the first case:
Series 1) You roll, fail, and accept the failure. You describe your discommode.
Series 2) While the change in circumstances brought about by your discommode still stands, this has no mechanical effect, so you begin this new series at the top of the chart. Roll, fail, accept, describe being further discommoded.
You can be discommoded till the hairy scottish cows come home, and it has no cumulative mechanical effect on your character, just a narrative one.
In the second case:
Series 1.1) Roll, fail, describe being discommoded, decided to continue the series
Series 1.2) Roll, fail, accept. describe being injured.
Series 2) The mechanical effect of injury is that you begin this series at the top of the
second
box in the diagram. So, roll, fail, injured (again!).
If you chose to accept that failure and begin a third series, you'd start that third series from the top of the
third
box in the diagram, on account of being doubly injured.
While being tripley injured is mentioned on page 20, nobody has ever (to my knowledge) put together a scenario of how that could actually happen.
Logged
Bob McNamee
Member
Posts: 685
[Trollbabe] Injuries, and Error in text 2? :)
«
Reply #5 on:
April 04, 2004, 05:53:28 PM »
Rafial...that looks like what I understand the Injury rules to be... but probably didn't state well.
Logged
Bob McNamee
Indie-netgaming
- Out of the ordinary on-line gaming!
Darren Hill
Member
Posts: 861
[Trollbabe] Injuries, and Error in text 2? :)
«
Reply #6 on:
April 04, 2004, 06:41:17 PM »
Quote from: rafial
By my understanding, it is A in both cases.
In the first case:
Series 1) You roll, fail, and accept the failure. You describe your discommode.
Series 2) While the change in circumstances brought about by your discommode still stands, this has no mechanical effect, so you begin this new series at the top of the chart. Roll, fail, accept, describe being further discommoded.
You can be discommoded till the hairy scottish cows come home, and it has no cumulative mechanical effect on your character, just a narrative one.
this was what I had suspected, but Ron's comment made me wonder.
Quote from: I
My main question: when performing Action by Action or Exchange by Exchange, does a discommode carry over from series to series.
Quote from: the Ronmeister
It does, if we're talking about a string of series in a single conflict (i.e. Pace is either exchange-by-exchange or blow-by-blow, but not whole-conflict). Discommodes do not carry over from conflict to conflict of any kind, though.
Can you clarify, Ron?
Quote from: rafial
While being tripley injured is mentioned on page 20, nobody has ever (to my knowledge) put together a scenario of how that could actually happen.
thats a relief. :)
Logged
Words to live by
Darren Hill
Member
Posts: 861
[Trollbabe] Injuries, and Error in text 2? :)
«
Reply #7 on:
April 04, 2004, 06:44:28 PM »
Quote from: Bob McNamee
Rafial...that looks like what I understand the Injury rules to be... but probably didn't state well.
No, you stated it well, but then Ron contradicted you - or so it appeared to my quite possibly addled mind.
Darren
Logged
Words to live by
Pages: [
1
]
« previous
next »
Jump to:
Please select a destination:
-----------------------------
Welcome to the Archives
-----------------------------
=> Welcome to the Archives
-----------------------------
General Forge Forums
-----------------------------
=> First Thoughts
=> Playtesting
=> Endeavor
=> Actual Play
=> Publishing
=> Connections
=> Conventions
=> Site Discussion
-----------------------------
Archive
-----------------------------
=> RPG Theory
=> GNS Model Discussion
=> Indie Game Design
-----------------------------
Independent Game Forums
-----------------------------
=> Adept Press
=> Arkenstone Publishing
=> Beyond the Wire Productions
=> Black and Green Games
=> Bully Pulpit Games
=> Dark Omen Games
=> Dog Eared Designs
=> Eric J. Boyd Designs
=> Errant Knight Games
=> Galileo Games
=> glyphpress
=> Green Fairy Games
=> Half Meme Press
=> Incarnadine Press
=> lumpley games
=> Muse of Fire Games
=> ndp design
=> Night Sky Games
=> one.seven design
=> Robert Bohl Games
=> Stone Baby Games
=> These Are Our Games
=> Twisted Confessions
=> Universalis
=> Wild Hunt Studios
-----------------------------
Inactive Forums
-----------------------------
=> My Life With Master Playtest
=> Adamant Entertainment
=> Bob Goat Press
=> Burning Wheel
=> Cartoon Action Hour
=> Chimera Creative
=> CRN Games
=> Destroy All Games
=> Evilhat Productions
=> HeroQuest
=> Key 20 Publishing
=> Memento-Mori Theatricks
=> Mystic Ages Online
=> Orbit
=> Scattershot
=> Seraphim Guard
=> Wicked Press
=> Review Discussion
=> XIG Games
=> SimplePhrase Press
=> The Riddle of Steel
=> Random Order Creations
=> Forge Birthday Forum