*
*
Home
Help
Login
Register
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
August 14, 2022, 05:37:44 PM

Login with username, password and session length
Forum changes: Editing of posts has been turned off until further notice.
Search:     Advanced search
275647 Posts in 27717 Topics by 4285 Members Latest Member: - Jason DAngelo Most online today: 81 - most online ever: 565 (October 17, 2020, 02:08:06 PM)
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Couple of questions...  (Read 1851 times)
Nev the Deranged
Member

Posts: 741

Dave. Yeah, that Dave.


« on: April 18, 2004, 08:19:04 PM »

I've been going through the Sorcerer books, page by page, trying to put the information in an order I can more easily reference while running or playing a game... sort of a Sorcerer For Dummies handbook for those of us who have a hard time keeping track of the system from the way it's presented in the books (I know I'm not alone in this).

I've run across a couple of questions, only two of which I can remember at the moment.

1) On page 59 of Sorcerer, under the Rule of Need, is an explanation of how Demons waste away if their Needs are not met:
"at that point it will lose 1 Stamina per day unless it successfully rolls Power vs it's original Stamina"
But by the time a Demon starts losing Stamina, it's Power has already been reduced to 0, correct? So does this mean roll Original Power vs Original Stamina, or what?

2) On page 39 of & Sword, it says that scores over 4 grant 2 descriptors. In Sorcerer it's scores over 5. Is it lower when using the & Sword rules, or is that a revision and you should always use 4, or is it a typo and you should always use 5, or is it at the GMs discretion, or what?

A little clarification on these points would be cool... thanks ^_^

I think I may actually try to run the "training" game from the first book, just to acquaint myself with the system... I have a feeling vigorous playing is the only way to really get the feel for it, and also that it's going to be like one of those board games where every few turns you realize you were doing something the wrong way up until then; but I'm so confident that the system is a work of genius that I'm willing to go through this process. Assuming I can get players, that is.

Actually, I have more confidence in the system than in my GMing abilities, which are a good ten+ years rusty. *sigh*
Logged
6inTruder
Member

Posts: 64


« Reply #1 on: April 18, 2004, 10:04:50 PM »

#1 I'm no good for, but #2:
&S says "over 4"
S says "5 and over"

subtle, true, but not too bad.

Jason
Logged
Ron Edwards
Global Moderator
Member
*
Posts: 16490


WWW
« Reply #2 on: April 19, 2004, 06:18:02 AM »

Hi Nev & all,

Jason (6intruder) nailed the second one, so I'll do this one:

Quote
1) On page 59 of Sorcerer, under the Rule of Need, is an explanation of how Demons waste away if their Needs are not met:
"at that point it will lose 1 Stamina per day unless it successfully rolls Power vs it's original Stamina"
But by the time a Demon starts losing Stamina, it's Power has already been reduced to 0, correct? So does this mean roll Original Power vs Original Stamina, or what?


Ummm ... OK, without the rules in front of me, I say that the demon would be forced to roll one die against its [Stamina + 1] the first day, then against its [Stamina +2] the second day, and so on. But that strikes me as stupidly picky - such lousy chances might as well be replace by saying, when Power hits 0, poof. So let me look at the rules and make sure that you're reading them right, and I'll take it from there.

Best,
Ron
Logged
Pages: [1]
Print
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC
Oxygen design by Bloc
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!