*
*
Home
Help
Login
Register
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
August 16, 2022, 07:50:08 AM

Login with username, password and session length
Forum changes: Editing of posts has been turned off until further notice.
Search:     Advanced search
275647 Posts in 27717 Topics by 4285 Members Latest Member: - Jason DAngelo Most online today: 69 - most online ever: 565 (October 17, 2020, 02:08:06 PM)
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Questions re: Sorcerer System  (Read 2373 times)
angelfromanotherpin
Member

Posts: 132


« on: June 06, 2004, 08:15:30 AM »

If a character is rolling a single die and succeeds, is it automatically a total success?  There seems to be no room for any other result.

Also, the main book states that a Humanity check is made for every Contact, Summon and Bind ritual.  Does Pacting require a Humanity check?  Or does it have that as an additional bonus over the Bind ritual.
Logged

-My real name is Jules

"Now that we know how many angels can dance on the head of a pin, how do we determine how many angels are dancing, at a given time, on the head of a given pin?"
"What if angels from another pin engaged them in melee combat?"
Ron Edwards
Global Moderator
Member
*
Posts: 16490


WWW
« Reply #1 on: June 06, 2004, 11:30:15 AM »

Hello,

Quote
If a character is rolling a single die and succeeds, is it automatically a total success? There seems to be no room for any other result.


That's correct. However, do realize that "total success" is not the equivalent of a critical hit in other games. It only means that if there's some way for the result to be special or interesting, then the dice are saying "go for it." If there isn't any reason for a special or interesting result, then it's no big deal.

In other words, if you roll a single die and succeed, it doesn't have to be special.

Quote
Also, the main book states that a Humanity check is made for every Contact, Summon and Bind ritual. Does Pacting require a Humanity check? Or does it have that as an additional bonus over the Bind ritual.


Pacting does require a Humanity check. It's a specialized form of Binding.

Best,
Ron
Logged
greyorm
Member

Posts: 2233

My name is Raven.


WWW
« Reply #2 on: June 06, 2004, 12:01:13 PM »

Another thing to keep in mind (if this is even a concern) is that a Total Success with one die is going to be as comparably rare as a Total Success with multiple dice, for the simple reason that just succeeding with one die is rare -- most of your opponents will be rolling multiple dice, and thus your chances of success are lower (it's all about the mathematical percentages). Hence, this feature of the rules is not unbalanced, though "common sense" might tell one otherwise.
Logged

Rev. Ravenscrye Grey Daegmorgan
Wild Hunt Studio
Pages: [1]
Print
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC
Oxygen design by Bloc
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!