*
*
Home
Help
Login
Register
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
December 05, 2021, 06:54:31 AM

Login with username, password and session length
Forum changes: Editing of posts has been turned off until further notice.
Search:     Advanced search
275647 Posts in 27717 Topics by 4285 Members Latest Member: - Jason DAngelo Most online today: 76 - most online ever: 565 (October 17, 2020, 02:08:06 PM)
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: [DitV] Simple Conflict Question  (Read 2084 times)
Solamasa
Member

Posts: 50


« on: November 24, 2004, 10:35:00 AM »

The rules stipulate that if you can't See a Raise, you have to Give.  But who Gives when you can See just fine, but neither you nor your opponent(s) can then Raise?

-kit
Logged
lumpley
Administrator
Member
*
Posts: 3453


WWW
« Reply #1 on: November 24, 2004, 11:03:07 AM »

Good question!

Your only choices when it's your turn are Raise or Give. There's no passing. If you can't or won't Raise - for whatever reason, including you've got no dice - you have to Give.

The reason I guess it's not spelled out in the text is that I've never seen it happen in play, so I didn't think to mention it. It's pretty rare for both sides to run out of dice at the same moment or close enough. When that happens, universally in my experience, the player can find some Trait to bring to bear or come up with some improvised thing, for that one precious winning die.

But generally if one side runs out of dice, the other side will still have some, so scrambling for a non-obvious Trait to use or an improvised thing isn't worth it, you've lost anyway, so you Give.

-Vincent
Logged
Vagabond
Member

Posts: 8


« Reply #2 on: December 06, 2004, 08:26:23 PM »

I too have a similar question. Here's the situation:
My opponent rolls 6 dice, I roll 5. I raise first. Then, half-way through conflict resolution, I throw in another die to account for a trait I used. So then the last round is: I raise, opponent sees, now we both have no dice. Who wins? My opponent can't raise. Do they lose? Seems unfair if so.[/quote]
Logged
lumpley
Administrator
Member
*
Posts: 3453


WWW
« Reply #3 on: December 07, 2004, 06:24:20 AM »

Yep. Raise or Give, those are your opponent's choices. Your opponent can surely find another die somewhere, but if not, must Give.

Starting pool doesn't figure, by the way, because of Seeing with 1 die and Seeing with 3 or more dice. You aren't always trading two dice back and forth.

-Vincent
Logged
Joshua A.C. Newman
Member

Posts: 1144

the glyphpress


WWW
« Reply #4 on: December 07, 2004, 10:46:12 AM »

... you guys don't have the right traits if you're only throwing 4 or 5 dice at a time. You can remember by this little poem:

Dice hittin' table
Sound like rain
Must be playin'
Dogs again!
Logged

the glyphpress's games are Shock: Social Science Fiction and Under the Bed.

I design books like Dogs in the Vineyard and The Mountain Witch.
Pages: [1]
Print
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC
Oxygen design by Bloc
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!