Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
November 29, 2021, 01:18:33 AM

Login with username, password and session length
Forum changes: Editing of posts has been turned off until further notice.
Search:     Advanced search
275647 Posts in 27717 Topics by 4285 Members Latest Member: - Jason DAngelo Most online today: 72 - most online ever: 565 (October 17, 2020, 02:08:06 PM)
Pages: [1]
Author Topic: [DitV] Escalating during Accomplishment?  (Read 1666 times)

Posts: 462

« on: January 11, 2005, 02:10:29 PM »

We're testing out chargen. Monica's playing Jane, who wants to Accomplish overcoming her distrust of parents, people and God. I'm the GM.

Pivotal moment: Jane and her mentor Steward are sitting on a crag somewhere in the desert. The Steward tells Jane to lie down, eyes closed, next to a rattlesnake. She is confused and scared, asks why. He says he can't tell her, she has to trust him.

So far, I'm using my 4d6 + 4d10 (as per p. 17). She's rolled Acuity + Heart (just talking). But now she wants to escalate; she's packing her stuff and walking away. She gets to roll Body (physical, not fighting, already used Heart).

Question: Can I escalate as well? Or are the 4d6 + 4d10 all I get to use for the entire conflict?

We played it so that I couldn't escalate, and she won the conflict. Jane didn't overcome her distrust.

Posts: 3453

« Reply #1 on: January 11, 2005, 02:24:22 PM »

As it stands, there's no provision for the GM to escalate during initiation.

I considered but tossed out "if you escalate during initiation, roll 2d6+2d10." I don't remember now why I tossed it out, but I'm pretty sure there was a good reason.

Maybe just: during character creation, if the player cares enough to escalate, the GM should back off.

Pages: [1]
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC
Oxygen design by Bloc
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!