*
*
Home
Help
Login
Register
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
July 02, 2022, 03:47:06 PM

Login with username, password and session length
Forum changes: Editing of posts has been turned off until further notice.
Search:     Advanced search
275647 Posts in 27717 Topics by 4285 Members Latest Member: - Jason DAngelo Most online today: 81 - most online ever: 565 (October 17, 2020, 02:08:06 PM)
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: [DitV] The Deluge continues - Healing  (Read 5130 times)
Darren Hill
Member

Posts: 861


« on: May 04, 2005, 12:52:08 AM »

So there we were at the end of the session - after the last conflict, one player had minor fallout, another had 6d10+4d6+about 8d4, and the last had 4d6+9d10 fallout.
The last one there got lucky - a result of 14. But it didn't help, since his Body roll failed, and he rolled up to 16+: needs medical attention.
The other one got 18, and needed medical attention.

The medical attention rules say this:
Quote from: The Good Book

- Your friend rolls your Body plus his own Acuity. I roll all of your Fallout Dice again, plus the town’s Demonic Influence.


So there I was rolling the fallout dice (plus demonic influence), and thinking...
Did my players go overboard in taking fallout?
Do your players survive fallout like that?

Also, in a situation like this, is it possible for other people to help, and if so, what dice do they roll?
Logged

lumpley
Administrator
Member
*
Posts: 3453


WWW
« Reply #1 on: May 04, 2005, 05:22:48 AM »

Short answer:

6d10+4d6+about 8d4 Fallout? 4d6+9d10? Yeah, those are characters in a bad way.

Some groups have to be coaxed upward into taking enough fallout to get experience. Other groups have to learn the hard way to let some conflicts go, instead.

If your players are taking that kind of Fallout routinely, you're making your conflicts too big. Choose stakes that the players can stand to lose.

-Vincent
Logged
Darren Hill
Member

Posts: 861


« Reply #2 on: May 04, 2005, 05:40:02 AM »

Quote from: lumpley
Short answer:
If your players are taking that kind of Fallout routinely, you're making your conflicts too big. Choose stakes that the players can stand to lose.

-Vincent


I hope they won't be taking that kind of fallout too regularly! I think it was mainly due to the first session, not knowing just how serious fallout can be. The good thing: it was a one-off, so they aren't too attached to their characters - next time they'll be a bit more careful (I hope!) :)
I'm reassured that such fallout totals aren't meant to be easy to survive.

A related question: when you give up a character and start a new one, you get that nifty d6 bonus. Does it apply if your character dies, or do you have to start from scratch?
That could be a bummer in a mega-session campaign.
Logged

lumpley
Administrator
Member
*
Posts: 3453


WWW
« Reply #3 on: May 04, 2005, 05:49:21 AM »

It applies if your character dies.

-Vincent
Logged
Joshua A.C. Newman
Member

Posts: 1144

the glyphpress


WWW
« Reply #4 on: May 04, 2005, 06:59:03 AM »

Quote from: demiurgeastaroth
So there we were at the end of the session - after the last conflict, one player had minor fallout, another had 6d10+4d6+about 8d4, and the last had 4d6+9d10 fallout.


I had a similar situation - Dogs (or the local setting's version thereof) stepped literally into the middle of a shootout. The inevitable happened.

What we wound up discovering were the healing properties of their regalia. Bring the Dog's coat, Sacred Earth, or whatever, into play! If there's supernatural, bring it in! Tear a piece off her Coat to use as a bandage! Cauterize with gunpowder from her Guns!

It turned out to be a really interesting conflict for us. It was a total stretch and we really got to see the characters sweat to save each other.

Quote from: The Good Book

- Your friend rolls your Body plus his own Acuity. I roll all of your Fallout Dice again, plus the town’s Demonic Influence.


So there I was rolling the fallout dice (plus demonic influence), and thinking...
Did my players go overboard in taking fallout?
Do your players survive fallout like that?

Also, in a situation like this, is it possible for other people to help, and if so, what dice do they roll?[/quote]

Other people can help. It's a regular ol' conflict. I had the town doctor aiding with another character playing her(just so I didn't get the dice all confused). Had the other PC not also been shot to shit, he'd have been aiding, as well.
Logged

the glyphpress's games are Shock: Social Science Fiction and Under the Bed.

I design books like Dogs in the Vineyard and The Mountain Witch.
Darren Hill
Member

Posts: 861


« Reply #5 on: May 04, 2005, 07:04:44 AM »

Quote from: nikola
Quote from: demiurgeastaroth

Do your players survive fallout like that?

Also, in a situation like this, is it possible for other people to help, and if so, what dice do they roll?


Other people can help. It's a regular ol' conflict. I had the town doctor aiding with another character playing her(just so I didn't get the dice all confused). Had the other PC not also been shot to shit, he'd have been aiding, as well.


Yeah, but what do they roll?
The normal healing conflict is: roll patient's body + healer's acuity.
If 2nd person help, does he also roll patient's body + his own acuity (which seems very strange), or does he roll his own body + acuity, or just acuity, or just give 2d6 bonus as if he was turning the healer into a Group?
Logged

Darren Hill
Member

Posts: 861


« Reply #6 on: May 04, 2005, 07:05:40 AM »

Quote from: lumpley
It applies if your character dies.

-Vincent


Excellent :)
Logged

Joshua A.C. Newman
Member

Posts: 1144

the glyphpress


WWW
« Reply #7 on: May 04, 2005, 07:16:29 AM »

Quote from: demiurgeastaroth
Yeah, but what do they roll?
The normal healing conflict is: roll patient's body + healer's acuity.
If 2nd person help, does he also roll patient's body + his own acuity (which seems very strange), or does he roll his own body + acuity, or just acuity, or just give 2d6 bonus as if he was turning the healer into a Group?


We rolled it as a Physical (non-fighting) conflict for the doctor. Into that came the doctor's relationship with the characters (developed in the previous town), her I'm What Passes For A Doctor Round Here trait, and Acuity + Heart. Mostly, she Aided the PC who was doing the healing.
Logged

the glyphpress's games are Shock: Social Science Fiction and Under the Bed.

I design books like Dogs in the Vineyard and The Mountain Witch.
Darren Hill
Member

Posts: 861


« Reply #8 on: May 04, 2005, 07:22:54 AM »

Quote from: nikola
Quote from: demiurgeastaroth
Yeah, but what do they roll?
The normal healing conflict is: roll patient's body + healer's acuity.
If 2nd person help, does he also roll patient's body + his own acuity (which seems very strange), or does he roll his own body + acuity, or just acuity, or just give 2d6 bonus as if he was turning the healer into a Group?


We rolled it as a Physical (non-fighting) conflict for the doctor.


Isn't that a liitle generous, given that the healing rolls don't quite use the normal scheme?
For instance, the active healer might have a higher body than the person he's healing, and so doesn't get to use his full dice (of course, he may have less).
On first reading the healing conflict example, I did have the amusing idea: "I escalate to gunfighting!"
I love that I'm What Passes For A Doctor Round Here trait, by the way :)
Logged

Joshua A.C. Newman
Member

Posts: 1144

the glyphpress


WWW
« Reply #9 on: May 04, 2005, 07:45:16 AM »

Quote from: demiurgeastaroth
Isn't that a liitle generous, given that the healing rolls don't quite use the normal scheme?


It was a near thing. Two healers using all their arcane knowledge and improvised medical supplies still only came up a couple of dice higher than what I had.

Quote
For instance, the active healer might have a higher body than the person he's healing, and so doesn't get to use his full dice (of course, he may have less).


Well, statistically, this is a wash.

Quote
On first reading the healing conflict example, I did have the amusing idea: "I escalate to gunfighting!"


Yeah, I've thought along those lines, too. You sure could use Ceremony.

Quote
I love that I'm What Passes For A Doctor Round Here trait, by the way :)


Thanks! She was pretty much the town matriarch, but she turned out to be a crap doctor.
Logged

the glyphpress's games are Shock: Social Science Fiction and Under the Bed.

I design books like Dogs in the Vineyard and The Mountain Witch.
Lance D. Allen
Member

Posts: 1962


WWW
« Reply #10 on: May 04, 2005, 11:12:03 AM »

There are rules in the group NPC section that refer to an NPC joining the PC's side of a conflict. I'd use those rules, myself, and then maybe allow the NPC to throw in a few applicable traits.

I think it's +2d6 stat dice, and a 1d6 trait as the default, but my book's not handy.
Logged

~Lance Allen
Wolves Den Publishing
Eternally Incipient Publisher of Mage Blade, ReCoil and Rats in the Walls
Darren Hill
Member

Posts: 861


« Reply #11 on: May 04, 2005, 08:02:32 PM »

Quote from: Wolfen
There are rules in the group NPC section that refer to an NPC joining the PC's side of a conflict. I'd use those rules, myself, and then maybe allow the NPC to throw in a few applicable traits.

I think it's +2d6 stat dice, and a 1d6 trait as the default, but my book's not handy.


Thanks, those are the rules I'll use for the future.
Logged

Pages: [1]
Print
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC
Oxygen design by Bloc
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!