*
*
Home
Help
Login
Register
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
October 26, 2021, 05:39:58 PM

Login with username, password and session length
Forum changes: Editing of posts has been turned off until further notice.
Search:     Advanced search
275647 Posts in 27717 Topics by 4285 Members Latest Member: - Jason DAngelo Most online today: 72 - most online ever: 565 (October 17, 2020, 02:08:06 PM)
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: [DitV] questions about See order  (Read 1710 times)
Chris Peterson
Member

Posts: 75


WWW
« on: November 29, 2005, 10:01:45 PM »


1. When a Raise affects multiple characters, in what order do the affected characters See? Page 59 says, "In cases where it's not clear who should open the conflict, have it be the player with the highest best roll." But does that only affect opening the conflict, not Seeing?

2. When a Raise affects multiple characters and one of the Seeing characters Reverses The Blow, do the remaining affected characters (who have not yet Seen) still need to See (and risk Fallout)? If not, could some of the affected characters selectively See if they know will earn See dice for the next conflict?


chris
Logged

chris
Eero Tuovinen
Acts of Evil Playtesters
Member

Posts: 2591


WWW
« Reply #1 on: November 30, 2005, 03:37:09 AM »

Generally, let the fiction be the guide. If a player has a bit of narration that requires their character to be the first/last to See, let them. If nobody cares, go in turn order or freely. The order of Sees is not critical in any way.

Who needs to See a Raise depends on the fiction, again; if one character's See somehow negates the need for the other characters to See in the fiction, then they don't have to See. So Reversing the Blow might or might not remove the requirement to See, but that holds true for other situations as well; a character could even Take the Blow for the whole group if the situation was such that one character could block for them all. In which case there probably wasn't any reason to consider the Raise to affect them all, to begin with. Which is a pretty common situation: for instance, I'd consider any and all rhetorical Raises to potentially require Sees from everybody in the opposition, but any one of them could declare a rhetorical See that negates the need. Somebody has to answer the argument in other words, or everybody has to resist it mentally. That kind of thing.
Logged

Blogging at Game Design is about Structure.
Publishing Zombie Cinema and Solar System at Arkenstone Publishing.
Vaxalon
Member

Posts: 1619


« Reply #2 on: November 30, 2005, 03:55:17 AM »

That's not strictly canonical with regards to the RAW but I definitely can see it as a reasonable house rule.
Logged

"In our game the other night, Joshua's character came in as an improvised thing, but he was crap so he only contributed a d4!"
                                     --Vincent Baker
Pages: [1]
Print
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC
Oxygen design by Bloc
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!