Forum changes: Editing of posts has been turned off until further notice.
Started by jburneko, February 09, 2006, 09:04:25 PM
QuoteWhat concerns me about the dice is that complex group resolution in Sorcerer is easier, faster, and more reliably decisive than any RPG known, relative to the detail. (Yes, Dogs fans, it's true.) Yet for some reason people keep insisting on playing it as if it were Vampire or Over the Edge, adding complications like initiative in the former case and reducing it to freeform with arbitrary "roll now" bits in the latter.
Quote from: Ron Edwards on February 10, 2006, 12:55:50 AM#2. Both. Arthur gets the penalties as a bonus to whatever comes next, and Brandon is hosed - screw his announced action, he's seeing stars. (Unless he wants to do the Will thing and carry on with his attack, which is permitted.)
QuotePure rules question: How does the roll your Will to overcome penalty work mid-rouind? Let's be exact. Arthur and Brandon are attacking each other. Both have Stamina 5 but Brandon has 2 bonus dice from something or other but Brandon has a spectacularly bad roll and Arthur a spectacularly good one.Arthur: 6 6 8 8 9Brandon: 1 1 1 3 3 5 5Arthur wins with 5 victories. So Brandon's working on 6 penalties come his action. More than his Stamina. So he want's roll his Will. His Will's kind of low so he decides to only risk 3 dice of his Stamina and succeeds! How do those 3 dice and the six penalities and the seven dice already on the table al relate?
QuoteRon, I thought the "muster through the pain" business was only permitted at the start of a new action? Like, that roll you made at the start of the round before they clobbered you is your roll for the current round. If someone totally cleans your clock, you're K.O.'d for the current round and lose your intention, and at the start of the next round you have to narrate the Theme Music Effect to do anything. You can't just re-roll in the middle of the round. Or am I totally wrong?
Quote from: Ron EdwardsIf Arthur's using his fists, then yes, that's 1 long-term and 5 temporary penalties, making 6 total at the moment.Brandon still has his crappy seven-dice attack sitting on the table. But he's knocked silly by that blow, so the attack would ordinarily just go away, blown out of the game by the damage rules.
Quote from: Ron EdwardsBrandon's player decides to get sorcerous. Right then and there, he can call for a Will roll. Say Brandon's Will is 3. He shoots for a 50% chance, rolling against 3 dice. (Please note that the wise player would at this time be role-playing toward anything that gets the group fired up, for bonus Will dice.) OK!The Will roll gets 9 9 10. Let's say the opposing three dice get 1 2 3. Rock on! Three victories!Brandon's attack is now "resurrected" into play. Here's the point: it can't be a new action, it's his standing one, because it's in the middle of the round. He can roll three dice for it. Now to answer all your questions. 1. These three attack dice are not penalized. Arthur does get to roll a five-dice defense against them. 2. The seven crappy dice sitting on the table disappear as if they never had existed.3. In the next round (anything after this, in fact), Brandon's five temporary penalties from Arthur's attack are gone, never to be applied to anything. The Will roll blew them out of the game.
QuoteWhen you say "if the player wants to accept that the character is talked down, then the action gets cancelled," do you mean (a) he can opt for full dice on defense, or (b) after defense fails, he may forego his announced attack?